You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-21 18:20:47

Mystro256

[Solved] NetworkManager not working with ath9k

I installed arch via a netinstall on my laptop (ASUS T101MT), but after installing gnome, I installed networkmanager and can't for the life of me make it work with my wireless. I can scan/find and connect to my network with ease but network use seems to have issues (ranging from being very slow to not up/downloading anything at all).
The wireless card is supported by the kernel, ath9k if I'm not mistaken (works with Ubuntu and Debian without a non-free/non-kernel driver), and I know it's not an issue with my network.

Also I would like to point out that I've been using Debian for about 5 years now and only recently decided to switch to Arch, so I'm fairly new to arch but not Linux.

Anyway, the steps I took post-install were as follows (in case I just simply missed something along the way):

- connected a straight through cable to my router and ran:

dhcpcd eth0

- set up pacman databases and mirrors, along with my hostname, etc
- Installed gnome: (installed all packages but epiphany when prompted)

pacman -S gnome

- installed all the xorg stuff
- Installed the extra gnome stuff: (installed all packages but empathy, dasher, eok, some other irrelevant things)

pacman -S gnome-extra

- installed dbus, network manager, etc:

pacman -S dbus networkmanager network-manager-applet gnome-keyring

- added dbus, network manager and removed network to DAEMONS:

DAEMONS=( ...dbus networkmanager)

- included gdm and etc in /etc/inittab
- made a pkla for networkmanager (/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pkla) : (copied straight from the wiki)

[nm-applet]
Identity=unix-group:network
Action=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=no
ResultActive=yes

- added my non-root user and then added the user to the network group:

adduser
gpasswd -a USERNAME network

-unplugged my ethernet cable and restarted