You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-09 22:40:02

dale6998

"Connection error" with all torrent clients

Hi All,

I've been using Arch for about 6 months now, and I just love it.  However, it's still a learning experience, and I learn the most when things break.  I'm in luck...something has broken big time...I can't seem to get any connection with any torrent client.  I've tried Deluge and Transmission, which always worked, no problem.  I noticed this shortly after the 'networking' deamon went depricated.  All ports are properly opened up, and nothing else has changed.

I can post output of any commands that the gurus feel would be informative and I thank you all in advance for taking the time to help me learn and fix this thing at the same time!

Best,

--D

#2 2011-08-10 07:45:05

stqn
Website

Re: "Connection error" with all torrent clients

What's the exact error/symptoms? Does it happen with different torrents/trackers?

#3 2011-08-10 09:37:49

gymka
Website

i have same problem, only difference that my torrent client(deluge) on start connects to all torrents and later no more connections are made... looks like on start everything is ok and later all incoming connections are killed. deluge is sending "update" to trackers and trackers receiving it, but data transmission is not going.
another symptom of problem: "ping google.com"(or archlinux.org, or any host except my ISP site) don't receive any answer or error, while earlier everything was ok. i though that is my ISP fault, but if i'm not the only one which has such problem - maybe it's archlinux fault.

Last edited by gymka (2011-08-10 09:38:31)

#4 2011-08-10 14:17:33

dale6998

stqn,

the symptom is that the rest of the network is fine...email, web, ftp, etc all works fine.  However, torrent files never seems to get started.  They're idle and at 0.0% until they finally time-out.