You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-15 19:27:59

killerturtle
Member
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 111

Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Im trying to install the driver for my EEE netbook wifi card --> rtl8192se
When i run makepkg an error occurs saying "missing dependencies..." kernel must be between 2.6.27 and 2.6.40
Im running kernel 3.0?

Any help is appreciated!
Thx
Sven

Offline

#2 2011-08-15 20:20:40

LeCrayonVert
Member
Registered: 2010-09-01
Posts: 134

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Hi !
rtl8192se module is now included in the kernel, no need to use the AUR package anymore wink


I believe in a world I can and do understand. A rational universe, explained through rational means.

Offline

#3 2011-08-16 05:29:29

killerturtle
Member
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 111

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Ok thanks, indeed I can now do sudo modprobe rtl8192se, but how do bring up the wireless interface?
Im running gnome 3.0. There is no network manager icon?

Offline

#4 2011-08-16 13:55:03

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Hey there,

I also have some problems with this driver. I had used the drivers form AUR before (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34281) but with the update to the kernel to 3.0  I removed all packages corresponding with the AUR driver. However now I get the following error flooding my dmesg log. Also it describes my problem as well. It just won't connect. Is there something I missed?

dmesg output:
This seems to be ok:

[    7.628677] rtl8192se 0000:03:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
[    7.629083] rtl8192se 0000:03:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[    7.645534] rtl8192se: Driver for Realtek RTL8192SE/RTL8191SE
[    7.645537]            Loading firmware rtlwifi/rtl8192sefw.bin

The "error":

[  112.466861] wlan0: direct probe to AP-MAC (try 1/3)
[  112.666715] wlan0: direct probe to AP-MAC (try 2/3)
[  112.866703] wlan0: direct probe to AP-MAC (try 3/3)
[  113.067262] wlan0: direct probe to AP-MAC timed out

lsmod output:

rtl8192se              81661  0 
rtlwifi                83373  1 rtl8192se
mac80211              191541  2 rtl8192se,rtlwifi

lspci output:

03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller [10ec:8172] (rev 10)
	Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device [10ec:e020]
	Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
	Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 18
	Region 0: I/O ports at b000 [size=256]
	Region 1: Memory at d0300000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
	Capabilities: <access denied>
	Kernel driver in use: rtl8192se
	Kernel modules: rtl8192se

Installed package versions:

linux 3.0.2-1
linux-api-headers 2.6.39.1-1
linux-atm 2.5.1-2
linux-firmware 20110727-1
linux-headers 3.0.2-1

So any ideas what is going on, or how I could fix this? Also I know my key and all the encryption stuff is set up correct, because I haven't change it and it worked before. I have tested it with another computer and it worked like a charm...
Any help is appreciated...
EDIT:

  *-network
       description: Wireless interface
       product: RTL8191SEvB Wireless LAN Controller
       vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
       logical name: wlan0
       version: 10
 ...
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rtl8192se driverversion=3.0-ARCH firmware=N/A latency=0 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
       resources: irq:18 ioport:b000(size=256) memory:d0300000-d0303fff

seems that the firmware is not loaded or am I missing the point?

Thanks,

nIcE

Last edited by nicebloom (2011-08-16 15:56:02)


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#5 2011-08-16 14:31:12

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

killerturtle wrote:

Im running gnome 3.0. There is no network manager icon?

Have you checked if the networkmanager is running? You can do so by issuing

sudo rc.d list

if it is running you can start the applet manually by typing

nm-applet

into your command line. This requires networkmanager to be installed. If it isn't installed, install it. If the networkmanager isn't running, run the folowing comand to start it

sudo rc.d start networkmanager

...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#6 2011-08-16 19:45:44

killerturtle
Member
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 111

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

I installed WICD and it worked?!

Thx for the help!

Offline

#7 2011-08-16 19:49:34

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

what card do you have? i haven't get my card running with the standard linux 3.0 driver.


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#8 2011-08-16 19:51:00

killerturtle
Member
Registered: 2010-11-12
Posts: 111

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Stock card that comes in an Asus EEE 1201N

Offline

#9 2011-08-26 23:02:51

eazy
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2008-01-20
Posts: 97
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Any news? I just built a new computer and cannot get this card to work, have the same error nicebloom reports (direct probe timed out)


no masters to rule us, no gods to fool us

Offline

#10 2011-09-27 11:48:54

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

No changes yet.
It happens sometimes with my linksys ap and everytime with my Android 3G Hotspot.

It seems odd and I haven't found a solution yet... Maybe it is an issue with the time out set into the code or something like that in combination with a slow ap. But I am not able to approve this...
MAybe some of the devs have to look on this issue.


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#11 2011-09-27 13:58:28

eazy
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2008-01-20
Posts: 97
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

My problem fixed by itself. You may want to try compiling and using the official Realtek drivers. They work with Linux >= 3.0


no masters to rule us, no gods to fool us

Offline

#12 2011-09-27 15:38:40

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

I will give it a try. Also he stock kernel driver si working for me, but sometimes it is flacky...
Do you use the one from the kernel or the realtek one?


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#13 2011-09-27 16:29:06

eazy
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2008-01-20
Posts: 97
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

Heh..i used the stock one, one day the system wouldn't boot giving a kernel panic on that module, so i installed the realtek one and it worked

I opened a bug report on kernel.org, reverted to the stock one to try reproducing the bug and it hasn't failed since.

Go figure


no masters to rule us, no gods to fool us

Offline

#14 2011-09-27 17:53:14

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

I will give the realtek one a try, maybe it resolves the issue with my android 3g hotspot. Fingers crossed. Can you post the link to the bug report? i would like to watch this issue a little bit.


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

#15 2011-10-15 16:14:13

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

nicebloom wrote:

I will give the realtek one a try, maybe it resolves the issue with my android 3g hotspot. Fingers crossed. Can you post the link to the bug report? i would like to watch this issue a little bit.

have you solved the issue?

are these drivers?

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/dow … =true#2302

Offline

#16 2011-10-16 11:21:17

nicebloom
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-28
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Kernel 3.0 and rtl8192se

The issue is solved for me by using the realtek driver. But I had to change a little bit in the source code to make it compile under the 3.0 kernel.
just run this in the root of th source code you have downloaded from realtek.

sed -i 's|RX_FLAG_TSFT|RX_FLAG_MACTIME_MPDU|g' base.c rtl8192{ce,se,de}/trx.c

You can find this line in a comment of mhertz on the aur page of the driver.

I hope this solves your issues with it.


...:::h4cK:y0uR:d4y:::...
cool

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB