You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-22 20:47:10

Starfall
Website

[SOLVED] Two drive system query

Hello there smile

I just finished building a new system last week, I'm currently running Ubuntu on it (thought I'd give it another shot, but I NEED Arch back, I miss it).

The system has a 60GB SSD and a 1TB SATA drive.

I'm wanting to get back up and running with Arch. I'd like to use the SSD for perhaps a 'system partition', if you will, and the SATA drive as a 'data partition'.

So, I have a couple questions;

How would you guys recommend I lay out my partitions? I want to use the SSD's speed advantage, so perhaps use it for boot and root, but also take into consideration that this is limited space, so then maybe mount home on the SATA drive?

I'm not too experienced with Arch, I've only ever gone through the install about 3 times, so apologies if some of the above is painful! I'm wanting to get into Arch properly smile

Also any advice on how to go about laying out these mount points/partitions in the installer will be greatly appreciated! (Again, I'm not too experienced, so this might be a bit tricky for me!)

Thanks in advance! big_smile

Last edited by Starfall (2011-08-24 12:49:28)

Visit my blog and my DeviatArt page

#2 2011-08-22 21:17:47

Earnestly

Re: [SOLVED] Two drive system query

#3 2011-08-23 00:21:34

anonymous_user

You could also create a separate partition for your data. You don't have to use /home to save all your files.

#4 2011-08-23 00:52:13

stqn
Website

The main thing to take into account with SSDs is to avoid writing a lot of data to them on a daily basis. I have some programs that write a lot to their configuration directory in ~, so I symlinked them to another HD... It would be simpler to place /home on another HD I guess.

#5 2011-08-23 04:07:48

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
Website

I have this setup on my work and home desktop, as well as my laptop (SSD for system, platter disk for data).