You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-26 19:21:46

gjd

Paging `dd` gurus: How did this use of `dd` destroy my Macbook Air HD?

Hi all,

edit: tl;dr:

1) What code tells the Macbook Air (or any PC?) how to boot from a flash drive in the USB port? That wouldn't live on the hard drive or be a part of the MBR or GPT would it? I would have thought that lives in the Macbook's firmware somewhere.

2) Can `dd` change a computer's firmware?

end tl;dr

I'm brand new to Arch Linux, but really like it so far. I got it running nice and smooth on my 4 year old Macbook, so I tried installing it on my Macbook Air.

Long story short, I apparently permanently incapacitated my late 2010 Macbook Air's hard drive from a poor use of `dd`. A new hard drive is on the way and will be taken care of, but I'm curious to learn what exactly my actions did.

After my unfortunate actions, the macbook after powering on would just hang at a gray screen. Tapping the power button didn't do anything, but holding the power button turned it off. I tried putting in the system restore USB stick that came with it, and rebooted while holding down c, and nothing happened. Rebooting while holding down option didn't bring up the boot disk menu. Holding down Cmd+Shift+P+R seemed to reset the PRAM (at least, it restarted like it's supposed to), but didn't fix anything.

I took it into my local Apple store and the Genius at the Genius Bar didn't know what to do. He said we couldn't boot from a restore USB drive, which also means we couldn't boot into target disk mode. He took it to the back area and confirmed the issue is solely with the hard drive, but didn't know of any way to fix the drive (some sort of weird 'blade' drive?). The only thing we could do was order a new drive to replace it.

So my question: