You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-26 23:09:47

ioos

Can I make an Archlinux Wiki Android app?

Ok, so I know that I can make it, but can I release it in the app store (for free)? Can I use the name? What about the logo? I'm sure this is information that's available, but I must not be searching on the correct terms. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

To provide some context, I'm just getting into Android development and would hopefully be an easy enough first app. (I've already made a Wikipedia reader for myself.) Also, I know that you can just point the browser to the wiki, but hardware integration is nice. Plus it seems like the times that I really need to use the wiki (something big is broken) I end up accessing it from my phone. It seems like a natural fit.

#2 2011-12-26 23:17:41

ewaller
Administrator

Re: Can I make an Archlinux Wiki Android app?

A assume you have seen Arch's trademark policy

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#3 2011-12-26 23:41:31

ioos

That's what I was looking for! It's clear that I would need to include the "TM" if the logo is used, but I'm having trouble determining if I can use the logo.

"you may use the trademark in a way which indicates the intent of your product"

This means that I can use the name "Arch Linux Wiki Reader", correct? I can make sure that the user understands that it's not an official application.

#4 2011-12-27 00:11:17

ewaller
Administrator

ioos wrote:

This means that I can use the name "Arch Linux Wiki Reader", correct? I can make sure that the user understands that it's not an official application.