You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-31 13:38:40

schrammbo

Newbie Questions

OK let me first start by saying that I am a newbie to Linux in general.  I have played around with just about every flavor of linux since RH 5.6 however, I am a windows admin for my career and a mac user since college way back in the early 90's. 

Recently with the push from both Microsoft and Apple making my OS into a smartphone I started looking at Linux as a full time option.  I have been running some flavor of Ubuntu since my decision to convert to linux.  Most recently have decided on Kubuntu as my flavor of choice.  Yet as I read the forums and newsgroups I read many people converting to Arch so I said to myself let me check it out. 

Not feeling fully confident that I can build an arch system from the ground up, which will become ubundantly clear hear in a minute, I decided to go with archbang and go from there.  Since I have not dabbled in anything that was not a debian build in quite some time most of arch is foriegn to me.

So my question is what makes Arch a better choice than say Kubuntu or Debian or many of the other big name distros out there?

I ask because I have been trying to upgrade my archbang installation since yesterday and it seems to me that just trying to get pacman running and installing updates for packer has taken way more effort than running apt.  It could be I am just more familiar with apt and hence my problems with pacman but it should not take 24 hours to get a package manager up and running and install updates should it?  From what I can tell packer has all but died out.  I have not checked to see if it has become a zombie process yet or not but that is how it is acting.