You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-28 18:35:57

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

[solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

I'd had some problems before, which I never really was able to fix.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=139408

Also chromium is segfaulting all of a sudden. I'm getting a lot of screen tearing on this browser (midori) as well.

[1185:1194:3836165678:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(239)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.NetworkManager was not provided by any .service files
Segmentation fault

Again, not sure if it's related to my main issue.

The main problem is that xrandr can no longer recognize resolutions beyond 1024x768.

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
VGA-1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   848x480        60.0  
   640x480        59.9  
TV-1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   720x576        50.0 +
   1024x768       50.0* 
   800x600        50.0  
   720x480        50.0  
   640x480        50.0  
   400x300       100.0  
   320x240       100.0  
   320x200       100.0  

Happened all of a sudden during a reboot. I'm getting weirdness at boot. Check out my dmesg:

http://pastebin.com/JZWVibeS

Not really sure of the best way to proceed here. There are a lot of EDID threads on the board, but the solution is never straight forward.

Last edited by Bellum (2012-04-29 18:22:49)

Offline

#2 2012-04-28 21:21:47

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

What about KMS? Is it working? Does the tty1 (Ctrl+Alt+F1) look low-res too?


$ xrandr -s 1280x1024

And can you run this? It should temporarily change the desktop resolution.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#3 2012-04-28 23:13:12

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

DSpider wrote:

Does the tty1 (Ctrl+Alt+F1) look low-res too?

Yeah, that was part of my problem before.

$ xrandr -s 1280x1024

And can you run this? It should temporarily change the desktop resolution.

No, 1280x1024 is no longer available. 1024x768 is as high as I can go.

Offline

#4 2012-04-28 23:27:34

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,145

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Can you pastebin your /var/log/Xorg.0.log and provide us a link?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#5 2012-04-28 23:43:02

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

http://pastebin.com/kaaiVaMm

Following DSpiders hint, I tried out set nouveau to load early, but to no effect.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … de_setting

Offline

#6 2012-04-29 00:45:14

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,145

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Well, I looked at the Xorg file.  I don't have access to an Nvidia system and I have never used NOUVEAU.  I cannot tell if the driver is really probing the monitor, or if it is just faking it.  Maybe someone else can take a crack at it. 

What is your monitor make and model?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#7 2012-04-29 04:25:56

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Offline

#8 2012-04-29 05:03:57

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,145

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Bellum wrote:

Nice monitor.  It should work.

On my Intel video based system, the driver dumps the Raw EDID data to the log Xorg log,  Your log does not identify the monitor model, nor does it properly identify the characteristics of the display.  These lines from dmesg are interesting:

[    8.995824] Raw EDID:
[    8.995898]  	00 52 0e 11 00 00 1e 00 00 00 fd 00 32 4b 1e 52
[    8.995976]  	13 0f 01 03 68 22 1b 78 ef 8b c5 a4 5a 48 9b 25
[    8.996053]  	1a 50 54 bf ef 00 81 80 71 4f 01 01 01 01 01 01
[    8.996130]  	01 01 01 01 01 01 30 2a 00 98 51 00 2a 40 30 70
[    8.996207]  	13 00 52 0e 11 00 00 1e 00 00 00 fd 00 32 4b 1e
[    8.996284]  	52 0e 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fc 00 43
[    8.996361]  	4d 43 20 31 37 22 20 41 44 0a 20 20 00 00 00 ff
[    8.996438]  	00 30 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 5e
[    8.996521] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: VGA-1: EDID block 0 invalid.
[    8.996530] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: DDC responded, but no EDID for VGA-1
[    9.020032] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: Load detected on output A
[    9.046695] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: Load detected on output B
[    9.047674] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: allocated 1024x768 fb: 0x49000, bo eef97200
[    9.048109] fbcon: nouveaufb (fb0) is primary device
[    9.060736] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on vga encoder (output 0)
[    9.060744] [drm] nouveau 0000:02:04.0: Output VGA-1 is running on CRTC 0 using output A

From the specs on the site you linked:

Frequency at Resolution: 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024 -All at 75 Hz
Horizontal Frequency: 30 - 82 kHz
Vertical Frequency: 56 - 75 kHz
Video Bandwith: 135 Mhz;Input Signal: RGB Analog
Input Terminal: 15pin D-Sub

Clearly, the Vertical frequency spec is wrong.  That should be 50-75Hz.  The native rate of your panel is appears to be 75 Hz.
But, your Xorg File reports:

[   101.330] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[   101.330] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[   101.330] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[   101.330] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "848x480"x60.0   33.75  848 864 976 1088  480 486 494 517 +hsync +vsync (31.0 kHz e)
[   101.330] (II) NOUVEAU(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 489 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)

So, where did the 848x480 come from? I also think the vertical refresh rates should all be 75, not 56.2 to 60.3.
I think the driver is just making things up, since it cannot fond a valid EDID. 

I think you said that at the start of all this.


Edit: Continuing (I posted so as not to time out)

I think you are going to need to write some Xorg configuration files until this gets fixed in the future.  I think the problem is with the kernel.

Last edited by ewaller (2012-04-29 05:05:56)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#9 2012-04-29 05:26:18

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Ok. Xorg conf files were never something I was very good at. This adaption from the wiki article doesn't seem to have any effect. Does anything stand out that I should be doing differently?

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
EndSection
    
Section "Device"
        Identifier "Nvidia card"
        Driver "nouveau"
        Option "GLXVBlank" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Nvidia card"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth  24
        Modes  "1280x1024_75.00"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Offline

#10 2012-04-29 08:22:29

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

About two weeks ago I couldn't set 1280x720 in games: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1087078

Try it. Especially since you already have the refresh values (from the manufacturer website, I hope).


"xrandr -s 1280x1024" should work then.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#11 2012-04-29 13:49:56

Yggdrasil
Member
Registered: 2009-07-21
Posts: 37

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

I have a similar problem. I'm using the proprietary nvidia driver. From one day to another the resolution was wrong. Xorg.log said that the EDID checksum was invalid and so the driver used some default stuff. I found the following option for the driver as a workaround:

In the device section:

Option          "IgnoreEDIDChecksum" "CRT-0"

After that all seems to be back to normal but i'm a bit unsure if that is something i want to keep...

Offline

#12 2012-04-29 13:59:56

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Bellum wrote:

This adaption from the wiki article doesn't seem to have any effect.

Because it's completely wrong. One of these days I'll need to create a wiki account, and then I'll slash the wiki into pieces.

This should do it:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "VGA-1"
    Modeline    "1280x1024_75.00"  138.75  1280 1368 1504 1728  1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x1024_75.00"
EndSection

You don't need *any* other sections, just that. Identifier maybe needs to be "Monitor-VGA-1" instead of "VGA-1", try both.

Last edited by Gusar (2012-04-29 14:01:57)

Offline

#13 2012-04-29 18:22:21

Bellum
Member
Registered: 2011-08-24
Posts: 230

Re: [solved] Resolution broken - EDID issue?

Ah, thank you Gusar, that seems to work for the most part. I am getting some weird graphics issues with compton (fork of xcompmgr) enabled, though. I'll mark this as solved because it does fix my primary issue and Chromium has decided to work today for whatever reason so I'll be able to do work as usual for the most part.

GhbRws.png

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB