You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-19 05:53:34

raritan01
Member
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] duplicate partitions listed during setup on macbook pro 8,2

I'm trying to install Arch on a 8,2 Macbook Pro.
I gave myself 40gb of space so far.
Here's the partition map:
sda1-3 are for the gpt, osx partition and osx recovery partition.
sda5 boot logical linux 200mb /boot
sda6 logical linux swap 2048mb swap
sda7 logical linux 7168mb /root
sda8 logical linux 30886mb /home
after I set this up in cfdisk and write it, then select the sources, editor & clock.
When I select option 4 "prepare hard drives" is where the problem is.
I select option 3 to Manually Configure Block Devices.
When I look in the Manage filesystems window I see duplicate partitions.
/dev/sda1 raw -200MiB
/dev/sda1 raw -200MiB
/dev/sda2 raw -676115MiB
/dev/sda2 raw -676115MiB
... this continues to
/dev/sdb1 raw -200MiB
/dev/sdb1 raw -200MiB
/dev/sdb2 raw -41409MiB
/dev/sdb2 raw -41409MiB
/dev/sdb3 raw -542994MiB
/dev/sdb3 raw -542994MiB
/dev/mapper/arch_lib-modules raw -99MiB
/dev/mapper/arch_root-image raw -671MiB
/dev/mapper/arch_usr-share raw -413MiB

I can't select the partitions to setup the filesystems & would appreciate some help/direction.
Thanks.

Last edited by raritan01 (2012-05-23 18:05:36)

Offline

#2 2012-05-19 06:29:58

raritan01
Member
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] duplicate partitions listed during setup on macbook pro 8,2

Well, after a search and a few trials, I was able to get the installer to recognize the additional partitions.
Without this post https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=141695 I would have been completely lost.
After I setup the partitions, I dropped down to terminal.
I had to go to the tmp director and create the directory aif and a file in the aif directory called aif-blockdata
Here's what my edit looked like:
/dev/sda5 raw no_label ext2;yes;/boot;target;no_opts;no_label;no_params
/dev/sda6 raw no_label swap;yes;no_mountpoint;target;no_opts;no_label;no_params
/dev/sda7 raw no_label ext4;yes;/;target;no_opts;no_label;no_params
/dev/sda8 raw no_label ext4;yes;/home;target;no_opts;no_label;no_params

After that setup and going through and selecting the partitions correctly & what would go there (/boot, swap, /root, /home) I got another error;
Filesystem/blockdevice processor problem
Warning: Could not create all needed filesystems. Either the underlying blockdevices didn't appear in 10 iterations, or process_filesystem failed

Has anyone else had this problem?

Last edited by raritan01 (2012-05-19 06:46:05)

Offline

#3 2012-05-20 05:38:01

raritan01
Member
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] duplicate partitions listed during setup on macbook pro 8,2

One more addition. After setting up the partitions using cfdisk and writing the changes, I enter the /arch/setup program.
When looking at the Mange filesystems window, I still see the same duplicate entries previously stated.

Offline

#4 2012-05-23 13:25:39

raritan01
Member
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] duplicate partitions listed during setup on macbook pro 8,2

For anyone else who has had this issue, if you exit out of the install and then log into root and edit the /tmp/aif/aif-blockdata (delete the duplicate entries) then start up the install again, you can now enter the partitions and begin the install. https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=119901 helped me and thanks goes to @Pumpino for the clarification.
Woot!

Offline

#5 2012-05-23 15:48:32

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,142

Re: [SOLVED] duplicate partitions listed during setup on macbook pro 8,2

Glad you found (and shared smile ) the  solution.  If you could, would you edit the thread title and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the thread title ?  Thanks.  (You can do that by editing your first post)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB