You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-04 17:21:08

erowley

How to setup subdomain names

For example, I have a NAS on my uncle's network and can give it a dynamic domain name foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org. Is it conceivable to have my other three machines on this network be accessible to the WAN via barfoo1.foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org, barfoo2.foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org, barfoo3.foo..., etc all while using DHCP?

What kind of DNS services would I need to setup for this? What would they have to do?

My uncle currently has a basic wifi router that I do not want to touch. I could forward some ports on it, but that is all I really want to do. The router assigns all it's IPs using DHCP but I'm sure I could give machines a static IP. The NAS would have foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org as its domain name and could be the first to receive a static IP. I would be interested in a solution that involved a few static IPs as possible.

I've never done anything like this before. I imagine the router could forward incoming traffic to the LAN's NAS on a static IP. Requests for foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org would stop there. Requests for barfoo1.foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org for example would trigger a DNS lookup in BIND9 running on the NAS, which would then connect to the IP of whatever machine on the network was sending the dyndns updates to the NAS for barfoo1.foo.foofoobar.dyndns.org. Is this crazy, or plausible?

Last edited by erowley (2012-06-04 19:11:32)

#2 2012-06-04 18:24:21

ewaller
Administrator

Re: How to setup subdomain names

No.

Take a read here.  Pay attention to the section on misrouting.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#3 2012-06-04 18:28:25

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website