You are not logged in.

#1 2012-06-12 16:57:36

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

[SOLVED]Mount cdrom

Hi,

I am currently unable to mount my cdrom.  I've created the directory /media/cdrom and 

sudo mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom

this tells me that I need to specify the filesystem.  Therefore I tried:

sudo mount -t iso9660 /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom/

and get  "mount: block device /dev/sr0 is write-protected, mounting read-only" which makes it hang and nothing happens forcing me to ctrl-alt-c to close the terminal.

I've also changed cdrom to sr0 and get the same response. 

I'm looking either for a wiki (i've searched and have been unable to locate a step by step wiki) or if someone has a simple solution.  Thanks.

Last edited by goods (2012-06-13 00:04:26)

Offline

#2 2012-06-12 17:35:19

rdm
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-05-31
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

Are you sure that /media/cdrom is empty after the mount and the Ctrl-C?
Also, can you post the content of /etc/fstab ?

goods wrote:

I've also changed cdrom to sr0 and get the same response.

/dev/cdrom should be a soft link to /dev/sr0, so it's the same.

Offline

#3 2012-06-12 18:02:19

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,130

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

cds and usb should not have to be listed in fstab. Why don't you use udisks and a helper like devmon/udiskie/udisksvm to manage mounting of CD/DVD and usb drives?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#4 2012-06-12 18:13:34

theGunslinger
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 300

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

I believe the best solution for you would be ldm-git, it's in the aur and can be used as a daemon. It's probably the most
hassle-free mounter out there

Offline

#5 2012-06-12 18:17:34

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,850

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

What is the media?  Is it an audio disk?

If so, you cannot "mount" it; it has no file system.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2012-06-12 19:19:07

rdm
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-05-31
Posts: 48

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

ewaller wrote:

What is the media?  Is it an audio disk?
If so, you cannot "mount" it; it has no file system.

There are some application for this special purpose... you may need GNOME or KDE however.
If it's not this case, try using other programs, like udisks.

Last edited by rdm (2012-06-12 19:36:56)

Offline

#7 2012-06-12 19:20:43

SS4
Member
From: !Rochford, Essex
Registered: 2010-12-05
Posts: 699

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

What do you wish to do with the cdrom? If it's verbatim data backup dd or ddrescue may be better solutions.


Rauchen verboten

Offline

#8 2012-06-12 19:57:47

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,359
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

I don't think the read only bit is "what's making it lock up". Mount says that on my system too but mounting is fine. Stupid question - have you tried dusting the CD drive making sure it's super clean? You can try passing the "-v" switch to get a more verbose error and explicitly specifying read-only with "-r" so there are no surprises.


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#9 2012-06-12 20:18:29

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

hi folks,

Thanks for all the responses.  Basically what I was trying to do was mount the cdrom to be able to burn a disc.  Brasero doesn't see the cdrom when I have a blank cd in it and when I try to mount the cdrom with the blank disc in it, I get the above mentioned response.  I'll have a look at a couple of the suggestions and repost here in a little bit.  I'm doing all this while at work!  Thanks again.
I should also mention that I am trying to stay away from gnome/kde.

Offline

#10 2012-06-12 21:00:00

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

goods wrote:

Basically what I was trying to do was mount the cdrom to be able to burn a disc.

You won't mount a blank CD. You can mount it once it has been populated with a filesystem.


:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#11 2012-06-12 21:01:15

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

You can't mount a blank disc. What happens if you just insert the disc and issue the command to burn it?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CD_Burning

Offline

#12 2012-06-12 21:32:20

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

I get the following when trying to issue the command to burn it (taken from the wiki):

 

 wodim -v dev=/dev/cdrw ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso 
wodim: No write mode specified.
wodim: Assuming -tao mode.
wodim: Future versions of wodim may have different drive dependent defaults.
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
scsidev: '/dev/cdrw'
devname: '/dev/cdrw'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
wodim: No such file or directory. 
Cannot open SCSI driver!
For possible targets try 'wodim --devices' or 'wodim -scanbus'.
For possible transport specifiers try 'wodim dev=help'.
For IDE/ATAPI devices configuration, see the file README.ATAPI.setup from
the wodim documentation.

Offline

#13 2012-06-12 21:39:02

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

Are you sure your device is /dev/cdrw?
What's the output of 'wodim --devices' or 'wodim -scanbus'?



Edit: Ah, you have to run

# modprobe sg

first.

Last edited by karol (2012-06-12 21:40:48)

Offline

#14 2012-06-12 21:59:57

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

ran modprobe sg first and still got the same output:

wodim -v dev=/dev/cdrw ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso 
wodim: No write mode specified.
wodim: Assuming -tao mode.
wodim: Future versions of wodim may have different drive dependent defaults.
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
scsidev: '/dev/cdrw'
devname: '/dev/cdrw'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
wodim: No such file or directory. 
Cannot open SCSI driver!
For possible targets try 'wodim --devices' or 'wodim -scanbus'.
For possible transport specifiers try 'wodim dev=help'.
For IDE/ATAPI devices configuration, see the file README.ATAPI.setup from
the wodim documentation.

Offline

#15 2012-06-12 22:14:32

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

/dev/cdrw is a symbolic link to /dev/sr0. You can run

ls -l /dev/cd*

to see what cdrw and cdrom actually point to.


:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#16 2012-06-12 22:55:41

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

oy!  so, I switched cdrw to sr0, which is what the ls /dev said it should be.  I also installd cdrkit according to the cd burning wiki.  I also gave myself permissions to use the optical:

sudo gpasswd -a <usernam> optical

This is the end result:

 wodim -v dev=/dev/sr0 ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso 
wodim: No write mode specified.
wodim: Assuming -tao mode.
wodim: Future versions of wodim may have different drive dependent defaults.
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
scsidev: '/dev/sr0'
devname: '/dev/sr0'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Wodim version: 1.1.11
SCSI buffer size: 64512
Device type    : Removable CD-ROM
Version        : 5
Response Format: 2
Capabilities   : 
Vendor_info    : 'HL-DT-ST'
Identification : 'RW/DVD MU10N    '
Revision       : '1.05'
Device seems to be: Generic mmc2 DVD-ROM.
Current: 0x0009 (CD-R)
Profile: 0x0010 (DVD-ROM) 
Profile: 0x0008 (CD-ROM) 
Profile: 0x0009 (CD-R) (current)
Profile: 0x000A (CD-RW) 
Using generic SCSI-3/mmc   CD-R/CD-RW driver (mmc_cdr).
Driver flags   : MMC-3 SWABAUDIO BURNFREE 
Supported modes: TAO PACKET SAO SAO/R96P SAO/R96R RAW/R16 RAW/R96P RAW/R96R
Drive buf size : 1601712 = 1564 KB
Beginning DMA speed test. Set CDR_NODMATEST environment variable if device
communication breaks or freezes immediately after that.
FIFO size      : 4194304 = 4096 KB
wodim: No such file or directory. Cannot open 'ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso'.

Offline

#17 2012-06-12 23:45:26

bohoomil
Member
Registered: 2010-09-04
Posts: 2,376
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

When pointing wodim to the iso image, try using the full path, e.g.

/home/goods/ubuntu-12.04-desktop-i386.iso

It seems that wodim cannot find the file.


:: Registered Linux User No. 223384

:: github
:: infinality-bundle+fonts: good looking fonts made easy

Offline

#18 2012-06-13 00:04:03

goods
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED]Mount cdrom

Awesome!  In all this checking around and installing stuff I left the directory that the iso was in.  Thanks for all the help everyone!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB