You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-27 03:48:53

sullivanva
Member
From: Herndon, VA USA
Registered: 2005-07-21
Posts: 126

Firefox DNS

I noticed that everytime I try to load a page or domain that doesn't exist it brings up an infosonar.com page with the "Look for the ridiculous in everything".

Is there some way to turn this dang thing off?

I want my 404 not found page.

It also does this if it can't load the page quickly enough.


--HAPS

Offline

#2 2005-08-29 04:59:10

sullivanva
Member
From: Herndon, VA USA
Registered: 2005-07-21
Posts: 126

Re: Firefox DNS

Well, it annoyed me so much that I installed Mozilla, but the problem keeps happening, so it must be something that Verizon is doing, or that incredibly annoying slow portscan.

The crazy thing is that I can put in a bogus domain, like doggieg.com, and when I try to do Adblock on it, it honesty thinks that the pages are coming from doggieg.com.

That's why I'm thinking it has to be some kind of crazy DNS sabotage, or that dang Flying Spaghetti Monster.  Dang him and his invisible tentacles!

Next stop, Opera.


--HAPS

Offline

#3 2005-08-29 06:15:11

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Firefox DNS

what does 'dig doggieg.com' result in?
if it yields no information, then you know it is a firefox/mozilla problem (maybe your isp has an auto web proxy).

you can also look at where the dig response came from. maybe check the ip against your known isp name servers..i could be possible that someone hijacked your upstream dns..

or maybe...you box got owned.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#4 2005-08-29 15:23:54

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: Firefox DNS

Verisign did this with their sitefinder "service" by putting a *.com and *.net DNS wildcard pointing to their sitefind service.

I think your ISP does about the same. I hate such ISPs, since they break spamtraps on mailsystems.

Offline

#5 2005-08-29 21:35:53

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Firefox DNS

You can use dnsmasq to have 404 error back.
http://www.enterprisenetworkingplanet.c … _3377351_2

You don't need to use dhcp from dnsmasq if you don't need it.

The plus is that you have caching dns which can speed up a little web browsing in some cases (it does for me :-))

Offline

#6 2005-09-01 02:25:48

sullivanva
Member
From: Herndon, VA USA
Registered: 2005-07-21
Posts: 126

Re: Firefox DNS

Sorry for the delay.

root@boogie:/var/log> dig doggieg.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> doggieg.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 51382
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;doggieg.com.                   IN      A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
com.                    172800  IN      SOA     a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1125541222 1800 900 604800 900

;; Query time: 1056 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.1#53(192.168.0.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Aug 31 22:22:50 2005
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 102

root@boogie:/var/log>

The same is true on my other Arch with the DNS problem.  My wife's computer is Windows 2000 with IE and it doesn't have the problem, but then it does bring up the stupid msn page.

I downloaded Opera and it also shows me the annoying page.

If you know of any sites to validate whether I am hacked, I will try them out.


--HAPS

Offline

#7 2005-09-01 04:20:06

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Firefox DNS

hmm. your dig response appears correct.
so it seems dns is fine..

start firefox, and check if you have a proxy setup..
preferences->general   then connection-settings

see if you have auto-detect proxy set...if you do..try setting it to "direct connection to the internet"


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#8 2005-09-01 11:20:48

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Firefox DNS

sullivanva wrote:

The same is true on my other Arch with the DNS problem.  My wife's computer is Windows 2000 with IE and it doesn't have the problem, but then it does bring up the stupid msn page.

I downloaded Opera and it also shows me the annoying page.

If you know of any sites to validate whether I am hacked, I will try them out.

Wow, this is weird. Assuming win 2000 and arch are using the same internet connection. This could be some sort of stealth proxy but rather not if you have different results.

I had something like this once but it was some spyware in windows.

If you suspect that your box is hacked somehow try loading one of linux livecds (archie?) and try with firefox again. If it happens there too then it must be something between your box and ISP.

Offline

#9 2005-09-01 12:17:52

sullivanva
Member
From: Herndon, VA USA
Registered: 2005-07-21
Posts: 126

Re: Firefox DNS

No proxy.

I'm in the middle of building a new machine, and I'll see what it has to say, once I get the networking working.


--HAPS

Offline

#10 2005-09-07 04:03:35

sullivanva
Member
From: Herndon, VA USA
Registered: 2005-07-21
Posts: 126

Re: Firefox DNS

Holy carp! 

I just installed Ubuntu, and did the same test with Firefox, and no crappy webpage comes up when I type in doggieg.com! 

It just says www.doggieg.com could not be found.  Like it's supposed to!

I come back to my Arch machine, and there it is again.

I tried FreeBSD for about 3 hours, and gave up on it.

Ubuntu is kind of strange with the sudo thing, but it's easy enough to get around that.

And the fonts are really nice, cactus.

Apparently standing out there in the sun, sucking up water is a good idea.


--HAPS

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB