You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-07 19:04:21

kalle97
Member
Registered: 2012-07-18
Posts: 80

Steam on Arch Linux.

Would it be possible to get Steam beta running on Arch Linux?

wget http://media.steampowered.com/client/in … /steam.deb

Offline

#2 2012-11-07 19:16:07

Teho
Member
Registered: 2010-01-30
Posts: 200

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

It's already available in the AUR and if I'm not mistaken it should work just fine. It would be nice to have external repository with Steam and all its dependencies though.


HP Elitebook 8560w | Arch Linux | KDE

Offline

#3 2012-11-07 19:26:05

dotfloat
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2012-11-05
Posts: 14
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Step 1. Go to http://www.valvesoftware.com/linuxsurvey.php
Step 2. Lie about everything
Step 3. Be lucky.
Step 4. Get in beta.

Also, there wouldn't happen to be an x86_64 version of the client?

Offline

#4 2012-11-07 19:29:09

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,877

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

dotfloat wrote:

Step 1. Go to http://www.valvesoftware.com/linuxsurvey.php
Step 2. Lie about everything
Step 3. Be lucky.
Step 4. Get in beta.

I think it's a bit late for that.

The AUR package runs fine on Arch, using an exploit though (provided as 'steamhack' in the package).


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#5 2012-11-07 19:38:02

dotfloat
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2012-11-05
Posts: 14
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

WorMzy wrote:

I think it's a bit late for that.

They just started the beta.
They'll probably be expanding their userbase at some point. If you express interest now, they might grant you access.

Offline

#6 2012-11-07 20:19:38

nixpunk
Member
Registered: 2009-11-23
Posts: 267

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

I'm hoping to get picked, but I'm not sure if they just want Ubuntu testers at this point.

Offline

#7 2012-11-07 20:24:15

tydell
Member
From: actually: Hannover, DE
Registered: 2009-07-26
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Im am running steam-beta (I have normal non-beta account) on Archlinux x86_64. It works fine and it is possible to log in on normal steam account.

Offline

#8 2012-11-07 21:40:08

dotfloat
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2012-11-05
Posts: 14
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Yeah, it actually does work on non-beta accounts. Segfaults the instant it starts, though. (I disabled Steam Guard.) sad
I've had it tell me that I can't use it because my account isn't eligible on occasion, so there is some kind of protection. It's just buggy.

Edit: Epic sadness.

Last edited by dotfloat (2012-11-07 21:47:49)

Offline

#9 2012-11-07 22:50:28

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,877

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

dotfloat wrote:
WorMzy wrote:

The AUR package runs fine on Arch, using an exploit though (provided as 'steamhack' in the package).

Did you try that? From the Friends menu you can open the main client in various ways.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#10 2012-11-08 01:29:04

runny6play
Member
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 85

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

So I was able to run steam with the steam hacks trick, through the AUR, yet. I can't download any of the games that are suppose to work Linux, for instance TF2 was suppose to be able to play on Linux today, but I am not able to download it.

Offline

#11 2012-11-08 01:32:09

root
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-04-13
Posts: 297

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

I think this would be the right place to get some input.


\(o_X)/
                        'Cause I wanna be an Archy - An Archy in the UK // Sex Pistols

Offline

#12 2012-11-08 07:10:31

dotfloat
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2012-11-05
Posts: 14
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Yeah, can't believe I missed that. It still segfaults whenever it feels like.

I managed to get VVVVVV to be flagged as installed, and it created an empty dir ~/Steam/SteamApps/common/vvvvvv. Copied the contents from my humble bundle copy, but it wouldn't start.

Has anyone gotten it to actually launch a game? (or for that matter, download one.)

Offline

#13 2012-11-08 08:23:36

gondsman
Member
Registered: 2009-07-27
Posts: 84

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

From what I understood, steam on ubuntu takes care of dependencies installation for games. It definitely doesn't on Arch, so most of the games won't run out-of-the-box.

Offline

#14 2012-11-08 10:05:16

Zopper
Member
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 10

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

On arch64 and non-beta account: World of Goo is running OK smile

Offline

#15 2012-11-08 10:53:39

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

All of Valve's games also have a check to see if you're in their beta. That's why none of us using the hack can download it.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#16 2012-11-08 10:55:19

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

dotfloat wrote:

Has anyone gotten it to actually launch a game? (or for that matter, download one.)

It seems like the only game people can get to work is World of Goo. All of Valve's own titles also have a beta check included, which is why none of us using the hack can download it.

I was able to download some demos, but I can't run any of them.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#17 2012-11-08 11:05:24

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,877

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

I can run Space Pirates and Zombies, but that's about it.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#18 2012-11-08 11:13:28

mashen
Member
Registered: 2012-02-28
Posts: 25

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Teho wrote:

It's already available in the AUR and if I'm not mistaken it should work just fine. It would be nice to have external repository with Steam and all its dependencies though.

Cool. Would be nice to have it on Arch so I can use it after work to blow off some Steam.

Offline

#19 2012-11-08 15:37:15

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

This has nothing to do with Arch Discussion. Applications & DE or Games is better suited.

Moving to Apps & DE

also merged runny6play's thread.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#20 2012-11-08 15:42:05

varsovie
Member
Registered: 2006-12-24
Posts: 14

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

Guys.

Here is client download Steam Linux
http://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/co … _the_link/

You can extract .deb with dpkg from AUR or just use "ar xv".
It works no problem with latest Archlinux.
Then it will download update about 100MB.

So far there is only Team Fortress as playable game. Of course list is bigger but most of them are only place holders without executables.

Offline

#21 2012-11-08 20:54:47

mynis01
Member
Registered: 2011-04-29
Posts: 66

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

I have the client running and everything but when I go to the TF2 page and click the "play game" button it doesn't respond. I can right click stuff in my library that I have purchased and attempt to install it but none of it is Linux compatible stuff, and I don't feel like spending money just to try and get this beta client working. I wish I could test it with portal since I own that. Has anyone else had this problem?

Offline

#22 2012-11-08 21:16:21

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

looks like two games from the new hib for android 4 have a linux version playable in steam: Eufloria and Superbrothers. I can't try them right now since my bandwith is limited, but it seems thery are playable like the world of goo demo.

P.s.: would it be possible to merge this thread with the one in the GNU/Linux section? I don't see any reason for having two steam threads (at this point).

Last edited by Box0 (2012-11-08 21:20:25)

Offline

#23 2012-11-08 21:37:44

thof
Member
Registered: 2012-05-27
Posts: 15

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

mynis01 wrote:

I have the client running and everything but when I go to the TF2 page and click the "play game" button it doesn't respond.

Only people with official Beta account are able to test TF2.

I have tested World Of Goo and it works great. Some users reported that they run Windows-only game via Wine like TrackMania Nations Forever ( http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410/di … 551856/#p1 ). I tried to launch this game but with no luck... But I think there is something wrong with Wine configuration on my system.

Last edited by thof (2012-11-08 21:38:30)

Offline

#24 2012-12-20 17:24:10

buntwo
Member
Registered: 2012-02-14
Posts: 14

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

I installed Steam from AUR, but when I run it a dialog pops up asking me for my password to update steam.sh, and after that nothing happens. Any ideas why?

Offline

#25 2012-12-21 00:18:23

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,877

Re: Steam on Arch Linux.

As mentioned by the AUR package, ignore any prompts to "update" steam via gksu/gksudo/xterm prompt. That should be fixed in a later release of the steam client, as well as the licensing ambiguity.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB