You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-09 12:59:41

varghesekrenny
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 17

How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?

Hi

While going through wiki i have seen
grub-install --target=i386-pc --recheck /dev/csda
but i386 seems to be strange for me..Since i am using 64 bit system.
How should i modify the command to  match for 64 bit installation?




Regards,
varghese

Offline

#2 2012-11-09 13:22:46

Antoine
Member
From: Picton Ontario
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 90

Re: How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?

varghesekrenny wrote:

While going through wiki i have seen
grub-install --target=i386-pc --recheck /dev/csda
but i386 seems to be strange for me..Since i am using 64 bit system.
How should i modify the command to  match for 64 bit installation?

It's legacy terminology, or perhaps it refers to the BIOS, not your OS. I presume it means "i386, not Motorola RISC" or something; grub goes way back. Look at the files in the 64-bit package -- they all refer to "usr/lib/grub/i386-pc/" and so on. I've installed grub2 on my 64-bit system according to the wiki instructions and it boots just fine, GPT and all.

Offline

#3 2012-11-09 13:25:30

varghesekrenny
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 17

Re: How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?

Ok thanks

Offline

#4 2012-11-09 13:31:22

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?

Quote from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB2

Note: Without --target or --directory option, grub-install cannot determine for which firmware grub(2) is being installed. In such cases grub-install will show source_dir doesn't exist. Please specify --target or --directory message. Also, --target=i386-pc is correct for 64-bit systems, as well.

Last edited by the.ridikulus.rat (2012-11-09 13:32:52)

Offline

#5 2012-11-09 13:32:35

varghesekrenny
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 17

Re: How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?

Initially i i done arch-chroot /mnt ..i entered into a shell prompt, where i did the wiki instruction.At the time of grub-bios installation when i run the command it shows multilib is not uptodate, so exit out of shell and run pacman base base-devel again..
I thought it updating multilib. Now i am not able to enter as early using arch-chroot /mnt..its saying API for this file system doesn't exist...

I need to continue with my installation in shell prompt.How can i  accomplish that?

Offline

#6 2012-11-13 01:31:30

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,670

Re: How to install grub-bios on arch linux during installation?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB