You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-07 09:33:23

daf666
Member
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 470
Website

netcfg not enabling interface (sets an IP address) if no link [Solved]

Hi;

When my computer boots, and the network cable is not connected (or the router is off), then the netcfg profile is not brought up.. like in "the old init scripts days".
So after there is a link I have to bring it up manually... is there a flag to bring it up even if there is no link? basically the old "ifconfig eth0 5.5.5.5" would do..

Thanks.

Last edited by daf666 (2012-12-08 21:46:57)

Offline

#2 2012-12-07 14:43:36

Tarqi
Member
From: Ixtlan
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 106
Website

Re: netcfg not enabling interface (sets an IP address) if no link [Solved]

daf666 wrote:

Hi;

When my computer boots, and the network cable is not connected (or the router is off), then the netcfg profile is not brought up.. like in "the old init scripts days".
So after there is a link I have to bring it up manually... is there a flag to bring it up even if there is no link? basically the old "ifconfig eth0 5.5.5.5" would do..

Thanks.

man netcfg-profiles
.
.
           SKIPNOCARRIER
               ‘yes’/‘no’. Don’t abort interface setup if no carrier is found.
.
.

Regards,
Tarqi


Knowing others is wisdom, knowing yourself is enlightenment. ~Lao Tse

Offline

#3 2012-12-08 21:49:08

daf666
Member
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 470
Website

Re: netcfg not enabling interface (sets an IP address) if no link [Solved]

Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB