You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-29 19:40:09

Joomla12
Member
Registered: 2012-04-25
Posts: 27

Microsoft Lifecam HD 5000 Not Working With Skype

Welp, this is a new one for me. In the past, this webcam has always worked "out of the box" for me. All I had to do was plug it in, and nothing else had to be done. Now, Skype is having issues using it. I've tested it with cheese, and it works fine. However, Skype displays it as, well, this.

Spw6Awm.png

I've been Googling around looking for a solution, but nothing has worked. I tried what was suggested in this thread and tried what the Wiki suggests.

This loads Skype without giving any errors, but the camera still doesn't work.

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype

However, this spits out an error.

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype
ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l1compat.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.

Also, when switching to the camera, I get this error.

libv4l2: error dequeuing buf: Invalid argument

Really have no idea what to do at this point. Any help is appreciated.

Offline

#2 2015-05-24 21:38:24

gnine
Member
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 1

Re: Microsoft Lifecam HD 5000 Not Working With Skype

I had the same problem, it was caused by my system locale not being an UTF-8 locale.

Offline

#3 2015-05-25 00:22:32

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,059

Re: Microsoft Lifecam HD 5000 Not Working With Skype

Thank you for sharing your solution, gnine. This is an old thread though, so I'm going to lock it now.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … bumping.22

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB