You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-26 20:12:31

zem
Member
Registered: 2013-03-26
Posts: 3

Problem with Compiz Fusion

Hi Alll wink, I just Installed Compiz Fusion running xfce4, but when I Started the compiz fusion , Just i can see a white screen ( Only the Wall Paper, without Windows , cairo dock And nothing) This is on Oracle Virtual Box running ArchLinux Latest version , Please Help...

Offline

#2 2013-03-26 20:25:00

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

how did you install compiz? what did you use to install Arch?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2013-03-26 22:24:02

zem
Member
Registered: 2013-03-26
Posts: 3

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

I've used Arch Installation CD, and I've Installed compiz via

$sudo pacman -S compiz-fusion

Offline

#4 2013-03-27 15:25:24

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

Are you using Arch Linux or Archbang? There is no package called compiz-fusion in the Arch repos.


https://www.archlinux.org/packages/?sor … =&flagged=


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#5 2013-03-27 16:13:09

andy_v
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2012-04-27
Posts: 31

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

I believe compiz-fusion is a package group containing all compiz-related packages. As for why you are not able to do much after running fusion-icon for the first time, you need to enable a few plugins in ccsm, such as Window Decoration (also, be sure to set the decorator you will be using), Move Window, Resize Window and other plugins you might like or need.

Offline

#6 2013-03-27 16:51:01

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

andy_v wrote:

I believe compiz-fusion is a package group containing all compiz-related packages.

Aha! no wonder I couldn't find it in the packages repo. meta packages should also be shown on the package database link, IMO.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#7 2013-03-27 17:26:15

digirium
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 51

Re: Problem with Compiz Fusion

Alright so presuming you login and XFCE4 starts up its environment with its own window manager, etc. And then you try to switch window manager to compiz and then that is the point at which everything goes bad? Have you tried starting compiz with compiz-manager i.e.

$ compiz-manager decoration move resize

That will start compiz and run emerald as the decorator.

Edit: It could just be that compiz starts, fails and bails at the moment explaining what you're seeing. Try the command above ...

Last edited by digirium (2013-03-27 17:29:49)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB