You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-20 05:29:51

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

iPad

Hi,

The info on the Web is scarce and confusing. Are there real options (the right way, the wrong way, the Arch way)? 'As is' it's seen as a 'Camera', unmountable (KDE).

$ lsusb                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub                                                                                                                                                                         
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub                                                                                                                                                                         
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub                                                                                                                                                                                     
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub                                                                                                                                                                                     
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 093a:2510 Pixart Imaging, Inc. Optical Mouse                                                                                                                                                                               
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05ac:12ab Apple, Inc.

Offline

#2 2013-06-20 05:52:39

hydrosIII
Member
Registered: 2013-04-04
Posts: 127

Re: iPad

Hi im the not so proud owner of an iphone and i can tell you that i can connect it to my arch computer, not without hassle, usulaly i have to unplug it / replug it before it gets mounted well, in this case nautilus does the job for me. unfortunately i have not found the way to put music into it so i only use it as a telephone (kind of useles, isn't it?)

And of course i think there is a way, but i think is more the wrong way. As far as i know the best thing to communicate with this kind of devices is to jailbreak them, its not the safest method but is the one that has more probabilities to work. If you jaiilbreak then you can install something like ifile or software to put your ipad in usb mode. Also there's software to communicate from bluetooth as i think that ipad can only communicatwe by default to other apple devices. Also you can install openssh into it and connect via arch. I think this solution is the more archer. You can find tutorials about jailbreaking in the web.

I hope this helps, there should be other methods however, instead of these ugly workaarounds.
For me : lesson learnt, never buy apple again.

Offline

#3 2013-06-20 08:06:05

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: iPad

Llama wrote:

The info on the Web is scarce and confusing. Are there real options (the right way, the wrong way, the Arch way)?

I used ifuse when I had an iPad - worked fine.

However, your post is too vague - you need to detail what you want to do, what you have tried so far, and what the results were.

Offline

#4 2013-06-20 10:03:41

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

Upload of files of any kind is the task. Correct mounting is [presumably] the requisite.

Last edited by Llama (2013-06-20 10:05:15)

Offline

#5 2013-06-20 12:43:13

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

$ ifuse /mnt/ --root
Failed to start AFC service 'com.apple.afc2' on the device.
This service enables access to the root filesystem of your device.
Your device needs to be jailbroken and have the AFC2 service installed.

What are possible next steps?

The ArchWiki expects no problem:

# ifuse <mountpoint>
The mountpoint field is where you want to have it mounted.
And you're done!

Like that!

On a mountpoint in /home:

$ ifuse /home/user/iPad/
alexey@aardbox ~ $ ls /home/user/iPad
ls: cannot access /home/user/iPad: Transport endpoint is not connected

Offline

#6 2013-06-21 06:02:22

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

I did more research on this forum. Usually it just works, unlike me...
I've not got any iPad device node, have I? Should it exist no matter what?

$ sudo lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 093a:2510 Pixart Imaging, Inc. Optical Mouse
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 05ac:12ab Apple, Inc.

$ ls /dev
autofs         char             dri      hpet       log           mqueue              port    rtc   sdb1      sr0     tty1   tty15  tty20  tty26  tty31  tty37  tty42  tty48  tty53  tty59  tty7   ttyS3    vcs1  vcs7   vcsa5        watchdog0
block          console          fb0      hugepages  loop-control  net                 ppp     rtc0  sdb2      stderr  tty10  tty16  tty21  tty27  tty32  tty38  tty43  tty49  tty54  tty6   tty8   uinput   vcs2  vcsa   vcsa6        zero
bsg            core             fd       initctl    mapper        network_latency     psaux   sda   sdb3      stdin   tty11  tty17  tty22  tty28  tty33  tty39  tty44  tty5   tty55  tty60  tty9   urandom  vcs3  vcsa1  vcsa7
btrfs-control  cpu              full     input      mcelog        network_throughput  ptmx    sda1  shm       stdout  tty12  tty18  tty23  tty29  tty34  tty4   tty45  tty50  tty56  tty61  ttyS0  vboxdrv  vcs4  vcsa2  vga_arbiter
bus            cpu_dma_latency  fuse     kmsg       mei           null                pts     sda2  snapshot  tty     tty13  tty19  tty24  tty3   tty35  tty40  tty46  tty51  tty57  tty62  ttyS1  vboxusb  vcs5  vcsa3  vhost-net
cdrom          disk             hidraw0  kvm        mem           parport0            random  sdb   snd       tty0    tty14  tty2   tty25  tty30  tty36  tty41  tty47  tty52  tty58  tty63  ttyS2  vcs      vcs6  vcsa4  watchdog

Offline

#7 2013-06-21 06:39:18

hydrosIII
Member
Registered: 2013-04-04
Posts: 127

Re: iPad

Hi Llama, reading this post has make me start to experiment with my iphone again, to put some music into it an i have found useful information in the Gentoo wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Apple_iPod,_iPad,_iPhone) and the Debian wiki regarding iphone (http://wiki.debian.org/iPhone) . The Debian wiki is complete. Also you can try the external sources in the gentoo wiki. There's also a channel in freenode regarding iphone #gtkpod.

Hope this helps

Offline

#8 2013-06-21 06:48:41

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: iPad

Llama, no, there is no device node for the iPad - it's not a normal usb storage device.

Offline

#9 2013-06-21 06:57:01

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

tomk wrote:

Llama, no, there is no device node for the iPad - it's not a normal usb storage device.

Yet it has to be created, has it not? I'll have to mount it.

Offline

#10 2013-06-21 10:33:30

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

hydrosIII wrote:

Hi Llama, reading this post has make me start to experiment with my iphone again, to put some music into it an i have found useful information in the Gentoo wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Apple_iPod,_iPad,_iPhone) and the Debian wiki regarding iphone (http://wiki.debian.org/iPhone) . The Debian wiki is complete. Also you can try the external sources in the gentoo wiki. There's also a channel in freenode regarding iphone #gtkpod.

Hope this helps

Thanks, hydrosIII! Debian article looks very promising. Unfortunately, I can't add myself to the fuse group, because it doesn't exist:

$ usermod -aG fuse me
usermod: group 'fuse' does not exist

Which looks funny, as fuse itself seems to be present on the system.

Offline

#11 2013-06-21 14:23:50

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: iPad

Debian has decided fuse needs its own group - Arch has not, as it works just fine without it. I guess you'll need to adapt the Debian article accordingly.

And no, the device node does not have to be created - you are using fuse precisely because a device node does not, and cannot, exist in this case. You can learn more about fuse if you like, by reading the man page etc.

Offline

#12 2013-06-21 18:00:56

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

tomk wrote:

And no, the device node does not have to be created - you are using fuse precisely because a device node does not, and cannot, exist in this case.

Thanks! I'll keep than in mind.

tomk wrote:

You can learn more about fuse if you like, by reading the man page etc.

Actually, I don't fancy learning everything about a subject which somehow managed to stay under the hood, where it belongs, for years. Kind of heresy, I know, but I should much prefer a bit of easy copy/pasting.

Offline

#13 2013-06-22 00:08:00

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: iPad

Well, ok then - good luck!

Offline

#14 2013-06-22 00:20:48

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,495
Website

Re: iPad

Llama wrote:

Actually, I don't fancy learning everything about a subject which somehow managed to stay under the hood, where it belongs, for years. Kind of heresy, I know, but I should much prefer a bit of easy copy/pasting.

I don't suspect it was meant as such - so perhaps pointing it out may make you reconsider your approach - but this is a very offensive statement.  Tomk pointed to you the information you need, but you refuse to read/think/learn, and you expect tomk, or someone else, to do everything for you ... this is how that reads to me.

Last edited by Trilby (2013-06-22 00:21:03)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#15 2013-06-22 01:03:51

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: iPad

I actually read that somewhat more charitably as saying that the OP wanted to just copy/paste from the Debian article rather than asking for somebody to provide the commands especially here. While that might not be the best approach from either a moral or prudential perspective, it is not necessarily offensive so long as the OP does not return expecting somebody else to sort out problems encountered as a result of blindly copying and pasting commands intended for use on another system.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#16 2013-06-22 01:26:14

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,495
Website

Re: iPad

That's part of why I don't think it was intentional.  But intentional or not, it may affect other would be helpers.  If lama wants only to copy and paste, then there is no point starting a forum thread.  If the thread was started before the debian source for copy/paste material was found, then this should be marked as solved.  If continued help is sought, then the OP should be open to receiving that help.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#17 2013-06-22 01:40:57

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: iPad

I don't disagree. I just thought it might not reflect quite such offensive expectations.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#18 2013-07-03 09:14:35

Llama
Member
From: St.-Petersburg, Russia
Registered: 2008-03-03
Posts: 1,285

Re: iPad

Looks very much like this bug.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB