You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-30 21:53:05

workaround

locale.conf error? [SOLVED]

I'm new to Arch so this might be a dumb question but I need an actual answer.
I used this wiki to install Arch. In that page it links to locale.

The locale page has a green tip that you can use "locale > /etc/locale.conf" which sets things to "en_US.UTF-8"
but when I login I get
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_CTYPE: cannot change locale (en_US.UTF-8): No such file or directory
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_NUMERIC: cannot change locale (en_US.UTF-8): No such file or directory
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_TIME: cannot change locale (en_US.UTF-8): No such file or directory
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_COLLATE: cannot change locale (en_US.UTF-8): No such file or directory
-bash: warning: setlocale: LC_MESSAGES: cannot change locale (en_US.UTF-8): No such file or directory

Is this something that locale messed up or am I missing some files???????
Any help will be nice. I used "pacstrap /mnt base" to install a base system if that has anything to do with it.

Last edited by workaround (2013-07-01 14:42:45)

#2 2013-06-30 22:00:16

karol
Archivist

Re: locale.conf error? [SOLVED]

What's the output of

locale
locale -a
localectl

#3 2013-07-01 00:00:21

WonderWoofy

In the very first line of the Installation Guide it says "See Beginners' Guide for a highly detailed, explanatory installation guide."  If you are new to Arch Linux, the Official Installation Guide is not yet for you.  The Installation Guide is meant to give a broad overview of the steps you need to take to achieve an installation.  It assumes you know about Linux and about what is required in order to have a functional installation.  The Beginner's Guide on the other hand, gives you a great step by step of what you need to do and why.