You are not logged in.

#1 2005-12-05 22:48:09

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

hi, yes is my first post and i am rather noob smile , well, here is my problem:

I managed to successfully install archlinux on my pc but i cant have a working internet connection.

some info:

-ping 127.0.01 -c 10:
10 packets transmited, 10 received, 0% loss time 8996 ms

-ping 200.83.1.2 (a dns server of my isp, i think..):
network unreachable


-when archlinux is starting i get: starting netwok FAIL

also, when i put as  root /etc/rc.conf restart and same with resolv.conf i get:
permision denied, is this issue related with my problem?

-dmesg (summarized XD ):
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xc8af4f00, 00:50:ba:62:e9:46, IRQ 9
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:04.0[A] -> Link [LNKC] -> GSI 9 (level, low)
-> IRQ 9

-ifconfig eth0:
ifconfig eth0 | less
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:BA:62:E9:46
inet6 addr: fe80::250:baff:fe62:e946/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:2088 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:9 Base address:0x4f00

-netstat:
netstat
Active Internet connections (w/o servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address
State
Active UNIX domain sockets (w/o servers)
Proto RefCnt Flags Type State I-Node Path
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 2002
@/org/kernel/udev/udevdunix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED
6934 /dev/log
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 6932

-route:
[root@myhost ~]# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use
Iface
[root@myhost ~]#


-/etc/rc.conf:
# Networking
#
HOSTNAME="myhost"

#
# Module to load at boot-up (in this order)
# (prefix a module with a ! to disable it)
#
MODULES=(!usbserial !ide-scsi)

#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
# - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
#eth0="eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
# - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

#
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up. These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
# - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up
# - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network-profiles
#
#NET_PROFILES=(main)

#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
# - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
# - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hotplug !pcmcia network netfs crond)

# End of file


-/etc/resolv.conf (i edited this file with some info i found in other forum)
#
# /etc/resolv.conf
#

search <vtr.net>
nameserver <200.83.1.2>
nameserver <200.83.1.3>

# End of file


-/etc/dhclient.conf: (i think i also edited this file but i dont remember what i did change )
send host-name "andare.fugue.com";
send dhcp-client-identifier 1:0:a0:24:ab:fb:9c;
send dhcp-lease-time 3600;
supersede domain-name "fugue.com home.vix.com";
prepend domain-name-servers 127.0.0.1;
request subnet-mask, broadcast-address, time-offset, routers,
domain-name, domain-name-servers, host-name;
require subnet-mask, domain-name-servers;
timeout 60;
retry 60;
reboot 10;
select-timeout 5;
initial-interval 2;
script "/sbin/dhclient-script";
media "-link0 -link1 -link2", "link0 link1";
reject 192.33.137.209;

alias {
interface "eth0"; 
fixed-address 192.5.5.213;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.255;
}

lease {
interface "eth0";
fixed-address 192.33.137.200;
medium "link0 link1";
option host-name "andare.swiftmedia.com";
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.33.137.255;
option routers 192.33.137.250;
option domain-name-servers 127.0.0.1;
renew 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
rebind 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
expire 2 2000/1/12 00:00:01;
}


thanks a lot

Offline

#2 2005-12-05 23:10:18

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Your rc.conf looks fine for dhcp. You have to do /etc/rc.d/network restart to restart the network.

Try modprobing 8139too if it isn't already loaded.
You can also try using hwdetect to load modules: hwdetect --load-modules.

Offline

#3 2005-12-05 23:28:30

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xc8af4f00, 00:50:ba:62:e9:46, IRQ 9
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:04.0[A] -> Link [LNKC] -> GSI 9 (level, low)
-> IRQ 9

i have already tried modprobing 8139too, link up means ethernet card is somekind ready to receive and send packets right?

Offline

#4 2005-12-06 00:12:26

Panu
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-10-09
Posts: 27

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

zwa wrote:

gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

Should that exclamation be there in dhcp? or does it matter?

Offline

#5 2005-12-06 00:31:03

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

Should that exclamation be there in dhcp? or does it matter?

prefix an entry with a ! to disable it


...Im not willing to disable dhcp, I want it to get working!!

Offline

#6 2005-12-06 00:56:46

bneate
Member
Registered: 2005-08-21
Posts: 36

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

I may just be silly but have you tried to run dhcpcd eth0?  It looks like your problem is that you havnt accuired a ip address. Are you behind a router?

Offline

#7 2005-12-06 01:16:08

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Yes i have tried dhcpcd eth0 with no success and i am not behind a router.
I must say that under other linux distribution i have not this problem so it is not hardware related.

Offline

#8 2005-12-06 02:24:08

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Check your loaded modules.  It 8139cp is loaded, 8139too won't work.  This has been a problem for a real long time with this chipset.

Also, you do not need dhclient.conf for dhcp, nor do you need to edit resolv.conf, as dhcp will overwrite that.

Offline

#9 2005-12-06 09:53:29

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

[root@myhost cd]# /sbin/rmmod 8139cp
ERROR: Module 8139cp does not exist in /proc/modules

Also, you do not need dhclient.conf for dhcp, nor do you need to edit resolv.conf, as dhcp will overwrite that.

So i dont worry about those files because they are going to be overwrited, no matter how much i modified them, right?

pd: i still cant have a working internet connection..X(

Offline

#10 2005-12-06 11:21:08

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Maybe you could boot into a live cd or something with network and get some updates?

Offline

#11 2005-12-06 17:50:09

Jedi Stannis
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 65

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Hey, I am having a very similar problem.  My internet has been working fine for a while, and suddenly yesterday it stopped working.  I get the same problem as you (eth0 comes up with no ip address) and I have no idea whats wrong.  It seems like it must be something was updated that broke it.  I've tried rolling back the kernel and that didnt work.  Any other ideas on what packages I could rollback to get my internet working again?

Offline

#12 2005-12-06 18:26:38

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

Ok, for both of you: the only things required to use the network script for dhcp is as follows:

# rc.conf
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

make sure your module is loaded and run /etc/rc.d/network restart.

If this fails, you need to make sure you have the right module loaded.  If you do not know your module, post the output of "lspci" and "lsmod".

If this still does not work, try doing things manually:
* remove your module (modprobe -r modulename)
* reload the module (modprobe modulename) and check dmesg for messages
* run "ifconfig eth0 up" and check dmesg for messages
* run "dhcpcd eth0" and check dmesg for messages

If this does not result in anything, then it probably has to do with router settings.

Offline

#13 2005-12-06 19:42:23

Jedi Stannis
Member
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 65

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

fixed

the problem?  the connection in my room to the switch somehow died.  I plugged into the other ethernet jack in my room and it workd...   so i went to the router room and switched the cables on the switch so the port behind my computer now works.  weird as hell.  but i have internet now.

Offline

#14 2005-12-06 21:45:14

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

well, i guess im'not as lucky as you.

here is the output of dmesg after trying with:

If this still does not work, try doing things manually:
* remove your module (modprobe -r modulename)
* reload the module (modprobe modulename) and check dmesg for messages
* run "ifconfig eth0 up" and check dmesg for messages
* run "dhcpcd eth0" and check dmesg for messages

ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:01:00.0 disabled
8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> Link [LNKC] -> GSI 9 (level, low)
-> IRQ
9
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xc8af4f00, 00:50:ba:62:e9:46, IRQ 9
eth0:  Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
NETDEV WATCHDOG: eth0: transmit timed out
eth0: Transmit timeout, status 0c 0005 c07f media 10.
eth0: Tx queue start entry 4  dirty entry 0.
eth0:  Tx descriptor 0 is 0008a05a. (queue head)
eth0:  Tx descriptor 1 is 0008a24e.
eth0:  Tx descriptor 2 is 0008a04e.
eth0:  Tx descriptor 3 is 0008a046.
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1

And here lsmod:

Module                  Size  Used by
uhci_hcd               31888  0
ohci_hcd               20228  0
ehci_hcd               33416  0
parport_pc             26436  0
pcspkr                  3688  0
rtc                    10808  0
snd_cmipci             32928  0
gameport               12424  1 snd_cmipci
snd_pcm_oss            51104  0
snd_mixer_oss          18048  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                84612  2 snd_cmipci,snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc          8840  1 snd_pcm
snd_opl3_lib            9728  1 snd_cmipci
snd_timer              22404  2 snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib
snd_hwdep               7584  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_mpu401_uart         6656  1 snd_cmipci
snd_rawmidi            21152  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          7436  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    49252  10
snd_cmipci,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib,snd_timer,snd_hwdep,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               8160  1 snd
8139too                25216  0
mii                     5120  1 8139too
i2c_i801                8332  0
hw_random               4756  0
i2c_i810                4996  0
i2c_algo_bit            8968  1 i2c_i810
i2c_core               18688  2 i2c_i801,i2c_algo_bit
intel_agp              21532  1
agpgart                30032  1 intel_agp
usbcore               115584  3 uhci_hcd,ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd
xfs                   562592  0
reiserfs              270064  0
jfs                   193148  0
ext3                  133640  1
jbd                    58132  1 ext3
linear                  5504  0
raid10                 20352  0
raid6                 103184  0
raid5                  24576  0
xor                    15880  2 raid6,raid5
raid1                  19456  0
raid0                   8064  0
multipath               7936  0
md_mod                 60752  7
linear,raid10,raid6,raid5,raid1,raid0,multipath
sata_qstor              7556  0
sata_promise            8836  0
sata_nv                 7044  0
sata_mv                 7300  0
sata_vsc                5764  0
sata_via                6276  0
sata_uli                4864  0
sata_svw                5764  0
sata_sx4               12164  0
sata_sis                5632  0
sata_sil                6788  0
megaraid_mbox          32528  0
megaraid_sas           25644  0
megaraid_mm            10020  1 megaraid_mbox
ata_piix                7684  0
osst                   55072  0
sym53c8xx              82452  0
atp870u                30336  0
aha152x                37584  0
aic79xx               271960  0
aic7xxx               182580  0
ahci                    9988  0
libata                 44936  13
sata_qstor,sata_promise,sata_nv,sata_mv,sata_vsc,sata_via,sata_uli,sata_svw,sata_sx4,sata_sis,sata_sil,ata_piix,ahci
raid_class              4224  0
nsp32                  26132  0
aacraid                56704  0
ipr                    53024  0
imm                    12040  0
parport                33736  2 parport_pc,imm
3w_xxxx                27680  0
tmscsim                21824  0
dc395x                 36492  0
3w_9xxx                32516  0
a100u2w                10304  0
BusLogic               24756  0
sr_mod                 15652  0
qlogicfas408            6792  0
st                     39328  0
sg                     31648  0
dmx3191d               14080  0
qla6312               115072  0
qla2322               134144  0
qla2300               124416  0
qla2200                87168  0
qla2100                79488  0
qla2xxx               128220  5 qla6312,qla2322,qla2300,qla2200,qla2100
lpfc                  153660  0
scsi_transport_sas     12928  0
qla1280               119436  0
sd_mod                 15488  0
ide_floppy             18176  0
ide_cd                 39812  0
cdrom                  38688  2 sr_mod,ide_cd
ide_disk               16128  3
via82cxxx              13468  0 [permanent]
trm290                  4228  0 [permanent]
triflex                 3456  0 [permanent]
slc90e66                5376  0 [permanent]
sis5513                15624  0 [permanent]
siimage                11264  0 [permanent]
serverworks             8840  0 [permanent]
sc1200                  6784  0 [permanent]
rz1000                  2560  0 [permanent]
piix                    9732  0 [permanent]
pdc202xx_old           10240  0 [permanent]
pdc202xx_new            8704  0 [permanent]
ns87415                 4040  0 [permanent]
hpt366                 18688  0 [permanent]
hpt34x                  4736  0 [permanent]
generic                 4356  0 [permanent]
cy82c693                4356  0 [permanent]
cs5530                  5120  0 [permanent]
cmd64x                 11164  0 [permanent]
atiixp                  5520  0 [permanent]
amd74xx                14364  0 [permanent]
alim15x3               11276  0 [permanent]
aec62xx                 6912  0 [permanent]
ide_core              119376  26
ide_floppy,ide_cd,ide_disk,via82cxxx,trm290,triflex,slc90e66,sis5513,siimage,serverworks,sc1200,rz1000,piix,pdc202xx_old,pdc202xx_new,ns87415,hpt366,hpt34x,generic,cy82c693,cs5530,cmd64x,atiixp,amd74xx,alim15x3,aec62xx


And lspci:

[root@myhost ~]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82810 GMCH [Graphics Memory Controller
Hub] (rev 02)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82810 CGC [Chipset
Graphics Controller] (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801AA IDE (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801AA SMBus (rev 02)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: D-Link System Inc RTL8139 Ethernet (rev 10)
01:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8738 (rev
10)
01:04.1 Communication controller: C-Media Electronics Inc CM8738 (rev
10)

And, no, i am not behind a router/swich/hub.

pd:pretty frustrating huh?
:cry:

Offline

#15 2005-12-06 22:42:35

zwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 72

Re: no net access, i have tried several possible solutions...

i just tried reinstalling arch but this time through ftp install and.... it didnt worked.. so i give it up and installed debian.

that's it , thanks you all anyway. lol

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB