You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-04 20:00:09

zyxuvius

Wireless card wlp2s0 mode DORMANT

Hello all,

I have been using Linux for about five years     now I recommend it to all my friends and have set it up on all my family's computers. I am spending a year as a student missionary teacher and so I decided to pack light and bring an ACER Aspire One with be for computing purposes.

I was intrigued with the setup and all seemed well, until I was confronted with my long-time Nemesis: Configuring wireless in Linux

I have never had any luck with Linux wireless networking. From ndiswrapper in Ubuntu Hardy to wicd in Slackware, I just have had no luck. My only consolation has been the System76 with a Debian based operating system, but other than that, nothing but hours and hours spent in forums and trying commands without end in the terminal.

So the issue that brings me to you today:

IP link outputs that the card is up, muticasting, and all the other things that the ethernet card is doing. It is just that the mode is DORMANT where ethernet is DEFAULT.

I was working through different tutorials I found online for esettig up networking and at around 2:30 I punched in ip config and something that I had done had changed the mode to DEFAULT.

After that, the very next tutorial I tried ended up in a successful connection (that ping made it all worthwhile)

I scrolled back up through the history and wrote down the commands that I thought were responsible for the success, but after restarting the computer, I was not able to duplicate the results.

Any suggestions?

#2 2013-09-04 20:20:35

clfarron4
Website

Re: Wireless card wlp2s0 mode DORMANT

A link to the tutorial would be nice, so that we can assess whether it is any good or not.

As for the rest, what network card are you using?

Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

#3 2013-09-05 03:44:08

zyxuvius