You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-27 11:54:01

skyer

reaver won't associate with AP

I'm trying to reaver to work, but it won't associate. I'm a beginner, please excuse the possible obvious mistakes smile

0. My wireless card is Intel Corporation Wireless 7260 (rev 73), kernel driver in use iwlwifi.
The network is WPA2, PSK, WPS is enabled (checked from beacon frames.)
Reaver version is 1.4.

1. When I run reaver, it sends out authentication packets but the AP doesn't respond to them, no association happens.  I CAN associate using wpa_supplicant.
Using wpa_supplicant, I was able to get reaver through the associating stage to start trying pins.

2. Some people report success when they let aireplay-ng associate them and make reaver skip the part using -A. The AP ignores all fakeauth authentication attempts.

3. Might be somehow related, I also tried capturing a successful authentication packet and then replay it with aireplay-ng, but for some reason, it just returns 'End of file'. I'm quite a beginner so I'm not sure if I didnt set some selection flag wrong. However, I tried it with bigger pcap files and set the filter to something quite simple (like me being the source address) - still nothing.

If I try it with live capture, aireplay get's stuck on 'read X packets', it never does anything else.

4. I tried injection test but no AP seems to respond. I tried multiple APs, so it leads me to question if my card/driver can actually inject at all.

[root@sigma caps]# aireplay-ng -9 mon0
12:32:13  Trying broadcast probe requests...
12:32:15  No Answer...
12:32:15  Found 2 APs

Additional information:
Wash -i mon0 always fails with '[!] Found packet with bad FCS, skipping...'
It seems that reaver 1.3 get's stuck on 'waiting on beacon from [AC]' and doesn't even send AUTH requests.
interfaces:

iwconfig
wlp2s0    IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
          Tx-Power=0 dBm