You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-12 20:57:42

Gerry
Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

For a while now, I have been experiencing an annoying issue.

Whenever I open Nautilus either by clicking the icon in the drawer (example: http://i.imgur.com/uZc3n7S.png) or by hitting "Super" (the Windows key) and typing nautilus+enter, Nautilus doesn't create a new window anymore. Instead, it just shows "Files" in the top bar, as seen here: http://i.imgur.com/Ho2nJhv.png

I can open a Nautilus window by clicking on the "Files" item in the top bar and clicking "New Window", as seen here: http://i.imgur.com/7IrWqvr.png
Also, whenever my desktop is focused, the "Files" item is visible in the top bar. In the drawer, the Nautilus icon is always highlighted as well. This leads me to believe that GNOME thinks Nautilus is already open, while it is not.

Note that I have enabled my desktop to be managed by Nautilus, so I can have icons on my desktop. I'm not sure, but if I recall correctly, this problem started ever since the one time I ran gnome-settings-daemon manually, to test if a certain bug still exists.

Has anyone experienced a similar issue? How could I track down why this is happening?

Last edited by Gerry (2014-02-12 20:59:18)

Offline

#2 2014-02-17 20:13:46

iodine
Member
Registered: 2011-09-20
Posts: 16

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

I have exactly the same issue. I noticed this since update to 3.10.3. I cleaned my cache unfortunately, so can't downgrade gnome-shell. If you still have 3.10.2 I suggest downgrading. I'm not sure if this is going to be fixed soon, as 3.12 release date is near.

Offline

#3 2014-02-17 22:03:37

wankel
Member
From: Iowa, USA
Registered: 2008-05-30
Posts: 218
Website

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Gnome-shell issue. You can disable desktop management as a temporary fix, but the next gnome-shell update will fix the problem.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=175993

https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=722510
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=722690

Offline

#4 2014-10-16 20:07:47

wwn
Member
Registered: 2013-03-25
Posts: 70

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

got this bug again today with 3.14 sad

Offline

#5 2014-10-16 20:40:28

ranjak
Member
Registered: 2014-10-16
Posts: 9

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Same here, I had to disable desktop management. Not a big deal but it used to work fine in 3.12.
I used gnome-tweak-tool for this, maybe it's to blame (compatibility issues with 3.14 ?)

Offline

#6 2014-10-16 20:48:23

quimkaos
Member
Registered: 2014-09-27
Posts: 42

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

yep same problem here...
no problem with gnome 3.12, only with the new 3.14
disabling desktop management in gnome-tweak-tool "solves" the issue...
thou i get the same issue (symptoms) with gnome-logs

Offline

#7 2014-10-17 08:33:21

Gerry
Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

I too have the same problem again. It seems it has already been reported here: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=738644

Offline

#8 2014-10-17 12:24:26

mrechte
Member
Registered: 2011-05-04
Posts: 36

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Me too ! Alt + Tab sequence is no longer working. I can no longer see this option "desktop managing icons" in tweak tool.

Offline

#9 2014-10-17 12:47:05

Gerry
Member
Registered: 2013-03-31
Posts: 5

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

@mrechte: By any chance, do you have the "Alternatetab" extension loaded? Try updating, enabling and disabling it. I had the Alt+Tab issue as well, doing the steps I just described solved that for me. Also, the option in tweak tool you are looking for can be found under "Desktop", "Icons on Desktop".

Offline

#10 2014-10-17 20:02:23

volimsir
Member
Registered: 2014-09-17
Posts: 3

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Same problem here too. Hoping for an official fix. I don't want to disable my desktop icons sad

EDIT: Although, disabling, and then enabling desktop icons again, seems to make it work.You just have to do it with every restart.

Last edited by volimsir (2014-10-18 12:05:40)

Offline

#11 2014-11-04 01:43:41

buluba89
Member
Registered: 2014-11-04
Posts: 1

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

volimsir wrote:

Same problem here too. Hoping for an official fix. I don't want to disable my desktop icons sad

EDIT: Although, disabling, and then enabling desktop icons again, seems to make it work.You just have to do it with every restart.

This fixed it for me too. Thanks a lot

Offline

#12 2014-11-14 14:14:58

Prototype0325
Member
Registered: 2014-11-13
Posts: 1

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Typing nautilus -q on terminal also work as an quick fix.

Offline

#13 2014-11-15 11:24:43

inno
Member
Registered: 2014-11-15
Posts: 1

Re: Nautilus doesn't open a new window when clicked

Prototype0325 wrote:

Typing nautilus -q on terminal also work as an quick fix.

It works for me too, many thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB