You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-15 10:42:04

tm
Member
Registered: 2014-01-27
Posts: 18

[solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

For example, say I want to open 3 instances of the same program, but I want two of those to be running under the tor network and the other one from my own network. Is this possible to do? Because I was able to to something similar on windows 7 before. How would I go about doing this on my arch system if it is at all possible?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by tm (2014-02-15 19:04:32)

Offline

#2 2014-02-15 12:16:27

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,700
Website

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

What program?  Tor is just a proxy.  You need to tell your programs to use the proxy.  In your case, tell two of them to do that and keep the other defaulted.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2014-02-15 13:35:07

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

If it's a command line based program, you can run it as:

$ usewithtor <program>

If you are trying to do so with a browser, then simply point it at the tor proxy as graysky mentioned.

Offline

#4 2014-02-15 16:04:32

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 12,445

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

As long as the program allows you to open multiple instances. Chromium won't.

Online

#5 2014-02-15 16:23:30

HalosGhost
Forum Moderator
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 2,097
Website

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

Actually, some browsers work just fine if you point them through usewithtor. For example:

$ usewithtor surf
$ usewithtor vimprobable

Both work fine. I'm not sure how bigger browsers like Firefox and Chromium would handle that though.

All the best,

-HG

Offline

#6 2014-02-15 17:00:08

tm
Member
Registered: 2014-01-27
Posts: 18

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

Hey thanks for the help guys you have answered my question half way. I'm not trying to do it with a normal installed program but a java application through a .jar file, is this still possible as when I try to do

usewithtor

and point it to the jar file it gives me a PATH error.

Thanks in advance guys.

Offline

#7 2014-02-15 18:35:02

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

Please post the full command and actual path of the JAR file.

Offline

#8 2014-02-15 18:44:39

tm
Member
Registered: 2014-01-27
Posts: 18

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

[tm@arch ~]$ usewithtor Java.jar
ERROR: Java.jar cannot be found in PATH.

full path of jar file = /home/tm/Java.jar

I also get the same error if I do

usewithtor /home/tm/Java.jar

Last edited by tm (2014-02-15 18:45:52)

Offline

#9 2014-02-15 18:48:25

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

You have to run it as

$ usewithtor java -jar /path/to/Java.jar

Last edited by x33a (2014-02-15 18:49:16)

Offline

#10 2014-02-15 19:04:13

tm
Member
Registered: 2014-01-27
Posts: 18

Re: [solved]How can I setup Tor so certain programs run under it?

x33a wrote:

You have to run it as

$ usewithtor java -jar /path/to/Java.jar

Thank you very much my friend ! smile it works!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB