You are not logged in.

#1 2014-03-20 15:46:32

pfpearson

wifi-radar can't get an IP address with WPA2

I'm setting up a laptop for someone, using OpenBox without a display manager (i.e. the user types startx). This person will primarily be using wireless at home, but will want to use public wifi as well. I've not had to do much with wireless in Arch (or Linux in general), so I may be (likely am) missing something; I'm certainly missing some experience. Also, I haven't used Arch in a year or so; I chose Arch for this since its installer actually worked on the laptop. This has been my first time working with systemd (I've been doing RHEL 6 at work for several years). I wonder if that's part of my problem?

I see this discussion which seems possibly relevant, but I don't think is exactly applicable to my problem.

I read and followed (as correctly as I can -- obviously I missed something) the following guides:

* Network Configuration
* Wirelss network configuration
* WPA supplicant
* Broadcom wireless (my wifi chipset)
* dhcpcd

I have wired Ethernet working fine. Following the manual steps in the Wireless network configuration and WPA supplicant guides, I was able to get an ip address over wlan0.

However when I use wifi-radar (had to put the user into the wheel group to get anywhere) I get the message that it could not obtain an ip address. Running 'ip a' shows two address on my wired ethernet, leading me to believe that dhcpcd is being run twice. When I edited the home wifi profile in /etc/wifi-radar.conf, setting "use_dhcp=False", wifi-radar hangs when I try to connect.

So, what am I doing wrong? I recall something about dhcpcd having a hook for wpa_supplicant; should I disable that hook? I didn't think to try that until just now while I'm at work.

#2 2014-03-20 15:50:09

Scimmia
Fellow

Re: wifi-radar can't get an IP address with WPA2