You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-08 20:45:50

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

[SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

Original message below, adding solution to first post:

1) if installed, remove the crda package, else our regulatory domain will keep resetting (in my case to GB)

sudo pacman -R crda

2) get and build ath_info

svn co http://madwifi-project.org/svn/ath_info/trunk ath_info
cd ath_info/
make

3) get your memory address (don't know if it's universal between the cards, better safe than sorry)

athmem=`lspci -vd 168c: |sed -n 's/.*Memory at \([^ ]*\).*/0x\1/p'`

3.1) backup EEPROM (optional)

sudo ./ath_info -d $athmem

4a) to get channels 12+13 (NO-IR) enabled, do

sudo ./ath_info -w $athmem regdomain 68

4b) to get channels 12+13+14 (NO-IR) enabled, do

sudo ./ath_info -w $athmem regdomain 60

5)  reload module (or just reboot)

sudo modprobe -r ath5k
sudo modprobe ath5k

6) doing iw list should now show the desired channels

Frequencies:
			* 2412 MHz [1] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2417 MHz [2] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2422 MHz [3] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2427 MHz [4] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2432 MHz [5] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2437 MHz [6] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2442 MHz [7] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2447 MHz [8] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2452 MHz [9] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2457 MHz [10] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2462 MHz [11] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2467 MHz [12] (20.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 2472 MHz [13] (20.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 2484 MHz [14] (disabled)

or

Frequencies:
			* 2412 MHz [1] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2417 MHz [2] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2422 MHz [3] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2427 MHz [4] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2432 MHz [5] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2437 MHz [6] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2442 MHz [7] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2447 MHz [8] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2452 MHz [9] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2457 MHz [10] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2462 MHz [11] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2467 MHz [12] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2472 MHz [13] (20.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 2484 MHz [14] (20.0 dBm) (no IR)

================== original message ======================

Hello,

I'm quite new to linux so maybe it's somethin I'm overlooking.
I have followed the steps  described here to set my regdom to EU to allow using channels 12 and 13 but I still only have 11 channels, and I don't see my WLAN which is working on channel 13.

I have found different solutions, none of which helped.
I tried adding options cfg80211 ieee80211_regdom=EU to /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf and the modules load with that option when I load them with modprobe.

I have also tried installing crda and editing /etc/conf.d/wireless-regdom uncommenting the DE entry (Germany)
The solution also talked about adding wireless-regdom to /etc/rc.conf, but that was before arch moved to systemd (I guess) and there doesn't seem to be a wireless-regdom.service so I'm lost.

The last thing I tried was to set the region with iw reg set, but it remains as 00:

# iw reg set EU
# iw reg get

country 00: DFS-UNSET
	(2402 - 2472 @ 40), (N/A, 20)
	(2457 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 20), NO-IR
	(2474 - 2494 @ 20), (N/A, 20), NO-IR
	(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 20), NO-IR
	(5735 - 5835 @ 80), (N/A, 20), NO-IR
	(57240 - 63720 @ 2160), (N/A, 0)

It doesn't matter if I set the country code to EU, DE or JP for each of the methods listed above, I am still stuck with 11 channels only.
The card in question is

01:05.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)

# iw list gives

Wiphy phy0
	max # scan SSIDs: 4
	max scan IEs length: 2285 bytes
	Coverage class: 0 (up to 0m)
	Device supports RSN-IBSS.
	Supported Ciphers:
		* WEP40 (00-0f-ac:1)
		* WEP104 (00-0f-ac:5)
		* TKIP (00-0f-ac:2)
		* CCMP (00-0f-ac:4)
		* CMAC (00-0f-ac:6)
	Available Antennas: TX 0x3 RX 0x3
	Configured Antennas: TX 0x3 RX 0x3
	Supported interface modes:
		 * IBSS
		 * managed
		 * AP
		 * AP/VLAN
		 * monitor
		 * mesh point
	Band 1:
		Bitrates (non-HT):
			* 1.0 Mbps
			* 2.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 5.5 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 11.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 6.0 Mbps
			* 9.0 Mbps
			* 12.0 Mbps
			* 18.0 Mbps
			* 24.0 Mbps
			* 36.0 Mbps
			* 48.0 Mbps
			* 54.0 Mbps
		Frequencies:
			* 2412 MHz [1] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2417 MHz [2] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2422 MHz [3] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2427 MHz [4] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2432 MHz [5] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2437 MHz [6] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2442 MHz [7] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2447 MHz [8] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2452 MHz [9] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2457 MHz [10] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2462 MHz [11] (20.0 dBm)
			* 2467 MHz [12] (disabled)
			* 2472 MHz [13] (disabled)
			* 2484 MHz [14] (disabled)
	Supported commands:
		 * new_interface
		 * set_interface
		 * new_key
		 * start_ap
		 * new_station
		 * new_mpath
		 * set_mesh_config
		 * set_bss
		 * authenticate
		 * associate
		 * deauthenticate
		 * disassociate
		 * join_ibss
		 * join_mesh
		 * set_tx_bitrate_mask
		 * frame
		 * frame_wait_cancel
		 * set_wiphy_netns
		 * set_channel
		 * set_wds_peer
		 * probe_client
		 * set_noack_map
		 * register_beacons
		 * start_p2p_device
		 * set_mcast_rate
		 * connect
		 * disconnect
	Supported TX frame types:
		 * IBSS: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * managed: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * AP: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * mesh point: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-client: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-GO: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-device: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
	Supported RX frame types:
		 * IBSS: 0x40 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * managed: 0x40 0xd0
		 * AP: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * mesh point: 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * P2P-client: 0x40 0xd0
		 * P2P-GO: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * P2P-device: 0x40 0xd0
	software interface modes (can always be added):
		 * AP/VLAN
		 * monitor
	valid interface combinations:
		 * #{ managed } <= 2048, #{ AP, mesh point } <= 4,
		   total <= 2048, #channels <= 1
	HT Capability overrides:
		 * MCS: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
		 * maximum A-MSDU length
		 * supported channel width
		 * short GI for 40 MHz
		 * max A-MPDU length exponent
		 * min MPDU start spacing
	Device supports TX status socket option.
	Device supports HT-IBSS.
	Device supports low priority scan.
	Device supports scan flush.
	Device supports AP scan.

I have seen someone say the regulatory domain may be fixed in the EEPROM of the card so changing it is not possible.
I do not think it is the case, since it is actually a card from an old Japanese laptop, and from what I gathered, they even have 14 channels over there. So the ath5k module managed to change it from 14 to 11 somehow, which leads me to believe it should be possible to get it back to (at least) 13 channels. And windows doesn't seem to have a problem detecting my WLAN either...

Any help appreciated.

Last edited by Soukyuu (2014-04-12 18:46:09)


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

#2 2014-04-10 10:51:14

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

I'm guessing it's either something obvious or something unusual.
Do tell me if you need more info, please.

Oh and I'm running all the commands as root at the moment.


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

#3 2014-04-10 13:44:33

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,429

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

Hi and welcome to the BBS smile
the issue you have is not obvious or unusual at all, but unfortunately pretty complicated for historic linux wireless reasons. First of all: the region is set in the EEPROM in your case (atheros device), yes.
Now if your device was set to JP originally, the ath5k would be supposed to use the CRDA region set. However, that does not appear to happen in your case (you not being able to change the region is another matter). In the output you post:

..(2474 - 2494 @ 20), (N/A, 20), NO-IR

the "NO-IR" means that the device is not allowed to actively transmit radiation on channel 13. Yet, it is allowed to respond to an AP transmitting a beacon on it. In the past this was called "passive scanning" and lately got renamed to "not initiating radiation". So, if your AP SSID is not hidden, the card should connect on channel 13.

However, your iw list shows:

* 2472 MHz [13] (disabled)

for some reason, whereas - for comparision - it should look like

	* 2472 MHz [13] (14.0 dBm) (no IR)

I am in region DE, crda is set to "00" (world) and can connect to an AP on channel 12/13. When initiating a scan, however, it does not scan on 12/13 (just pick up an AP beacon). Your device should do the same in my view.

One thing you could do, is just eliminate all the configuration you tried for crda and folks, ensure you are not running hostapd or anything that sets the device to master mode, reboot and see if "# iw list" shows something else for channel 13 than "disabled".

The ath5k is very widely used. If above does not help, the only other suggestion I would have (if noone has another idea/suggestion here) is you search the ath5k mailing list and post your question there.

Offline

#4 2014-04-10 14:36:19

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,774

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

It has been suggested that this thread move to Networking, Server and Protection.  I tend to agree, this is not really a Newbie issue -- it runs a bit deeper.

Moving....


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2014-04-11 15:48:22

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

Thanks for the welcome and the replies.
I thought about posting the thread in the networking section  myself, but decided against it because I am a newbie after all big_smile

I undid all the modifications on crda and co. and now iw reg get output  changed to

country GB: DFS-ETSI
	(2402 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 20)
	(5170 - 5250 @ 80), (N/A, 20)
	(5250 - 5330 @ 80), (N/A, 20), DFS
	(5490 - 5710 @ 80), (N/A, 27), DFS
	(57240 - 65880 @ 2160), (N/A, 40), NO-OUTDOOR

I actually expected it to say "world" now (or rather 00), not GB. iw list still shows channels 12-14 as disabled.
I didn't setup hostapd and ps -A doesn't list it. Is that how I am to check it?
The SSID is not hidden according to the router, and other machines with WLAN see it in the list prior to first connect. Those are running windows though.

Something that changed now is that I am able to set the region with #iw reg set
The region does change its value, but #iw list still says disabled for the relevant channels.

edit: could wpa_supplicant somehow overwrite the settings? I don't seem to have anything like a country code set in its configuration files.
I do see a setting that might start its own AP if no networks found (ap_scan = 1). Tried setting it to 0 (driver handles the scanning) and no change.

I'm using wicd+wpa_supplicant to connect to a WPA2-AES protected network. wicd is handling the authentication data.

edit2: there seems to be something wrong about how this works: region is set correctly then reverts to GB according to dmesg:

...
[    5.847320] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[    6.489622] ath5k 0000:01:05.0: registered as 'phy0'
[    6.848890] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x64
[    6.848892] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
[    6.848896] ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
[    6.848897] ath: Regpair used: 0x64
[    6.909521] ath5k: phy0: Atheros AR5212 chip found (MAC: 0x56, PHY: 0x41)
[    6.909524] ath5k: phy0: RF5111 5GHz radio found (0x17)
[    6.909526] ath5k: phy0: RF2111 2GHz radio found (0x23)
[    7.141076] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[    7.141079] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[    7.141083] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.141085] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.141087] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.141089] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.141091] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.141093] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm)
[    7.141120] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: JP
[    7.146221] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: JP
[    7.146225] cfg80211:  DFS Master region JP
[    7.146226] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[    7.146230] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.146232] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.146234] cfg80211:   (4910000 KHz - 4990000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[    7.146236] cfg80211:   (5030000 KHz - 5090000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[    7.146237] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.146240] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.146242] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[   34.569792] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: GB
[   34.576469] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x833a
[   34.576479] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a country code
[   34.576483] ath: doing EEPROM country->regdmn map search
[   34.576486] ath: country maps to regdmn code: 0x37
[   34.576489] ath: Country alpha2 being used: GB
[   34.576492] ath: Regpair used: 0x37
[   34.576496] ath: regdomain 0x833a dynamically updated by country IE
[   34.576499] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: GB
[   34.576502] cfg80211:  DFS Master region ETSI
[   34.576505] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[   34.576510] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   34.576514] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   34.576518] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   34.576521] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2700 mBm)
[   34.576525] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 65880000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 4000 mBm)

I assume it reverts because EEPROM information somehow takes precendence over what I set with wireless-regdom.
Maybe this infor can help debug it?

Last edited by Soukyuu (2014-04-11 16:21:47)


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

#6 2014-04-11 18:24:52

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,429

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

Your looking for the hostapd process should do fine. Just wanted to make sure it uses the right mode as client, also listed in

# iw <interface> info

Interesting that it changes to "GB", should be the eeprom/driver, yes. wpa_supplicant will not have changed it, if you have not modified the default config. But worthwhile try setting "ap_scan=0".

The problematic output remains the "disabled" in "iw list", this looks wrong to me - be it for "GB" or "world" cdra (Question5). The beloved search engine suggests my memory needs exercise: we had another user who solved that ath5k channel 12/13 issue, using a madwifi tool athinfo. I've never used it, but maybe it helps you. The point seems to be, as you assume, that the ath5k driver does not care for crda and overwrites it. There is a reason the "world" regulatory is called like that and not picking up the channel beacon on 13 passively looks wrong to me.

Something else to check, execute

# iw event -t

in a terminal and open another to trigger a scan (should work without stopping wicd)

# iw dev <device> scan

Are channels 12/13 listed in the event output?

Offline

#7 2014-04-11 19:47:18

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

I remember seeing that thread you linked, but I got stuck at not knowing where to get the ath_info tool from and then it slipped my mind.
Just like in that case though, this solves the issue! Partially: I now have channels 1-13 enabled after changing the EEPROM to 0x68. Interestingly enough, dmesg still says CRDA sets the region back to GB, yet channels still work.

I was unable to find a list of country codes in their numeric/hex form, so I'm a bit lost on what value to use to set the EEPROM to World, Germany or Japan. I'm assuming 0x68 is Greece?
I'd like to get channel 14 working as well because this laptop will be used in both of those countries.

For the sake of completeness: iw event -t did not list it scanning on channels 12-13 before writing 0x68 to EEPROM. Afterwards, it did.
Steps so far:
1) get and build ath_info

svn co http://madwifi-project.org/svn/ath_info/trunk ath_info
cd ath_info/
make

2) get your memory address (don't know if it's universal between the cards, better safe than sorry)

athmem=`lspci -vd 168c: |sed -n 's/.*Memory at \([^ ]*\).*/0x\1/p'`

2a) backup EEPROM (optional)

sudo ./ath_info -d $athmem

3) write the regdom value

sudo ./ath_info -w $athmem regdomain 68

Last edited by Soukyuu (2014-04-11 19:51:11)


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

#8 2014-04-12 00:50:24

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,429

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

Now that's good news. To be frank, I find it very odd, that all this is required (particularly from the vendor of your card) for such a widely used wifi module in linux. But anyhow, great you got it to work on the channel 13 you required for starters. And you add info to the linked thread on top, great!

Atheros appears to have some particular legacy setting for the 0x68: it is called EU1_world, see http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/ath for the mapping and further links to regular ISO 3166-1 codes.

Offline

#9 2014-04-12 17:54:52

Soukyuu
Member
Registered: 2014-04-08
Posts: 854

Re: [SOLVED] WLAN ath5k: regulatory domain set but it is ignored?

The link helped, thanks!

I managed to get channel 14 working as well now.
For the record:
- a value of 68 enables 1-11 + 12-13 (NO-IR)
- a value of 60 enables 1-11 + 12-14 (NO-IR)

Be careful experimenting with them though, I tried to write 392 (Japan) to the EEPROM and it did... after which the wlan interface has disappeared. In my opinion, the information regarding the 3 digit regdoms is rather unclear, it probably belongs into another register, not regdomain. You can still fix the card by rewriting a correct, two digit regdomain value.

edit2: nevermind the part below, solved. Will add full instructions to the first post. Thanks for the help!

-------------------------------------------
edit: channel 14 seems to only hold for a few seconds, though. The EEPROM info keeps reverting regdom to GB for some reason. I then have to unload and reload the ath5k module to re-enable channel 14.

Booting: correctly sets country to JP, then resets it to GB

[    6.285400] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[    7.054075] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[    7.054081] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: unset
[    7.054081] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[    7.054085] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.054087] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.054089] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.054091] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.054093] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.054095] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm)
[    7.054119] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: JP
[    7.068527] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: JP
[    7.068555] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: JP
[    7.068555] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[    7.068558] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.068560] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.068562] cfg80211:   (4910000 KHz - 4990000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[    7.068564] cfg80211:   (5030000 KHz - 5090000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[    7.068566] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.068567] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[    7.068569] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[   35.219154] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: GB
[   35.224197] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: GB
[   35.224200] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: ETSI
[   35.224204] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[   35.224208] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   35.224212] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   35.224216] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[   35.224220] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2700 mBm)
[   35.224223] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 65880000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 4000 mBm)

me manually reloading modules

[  138.363438] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[  138.468156] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[  138.468167] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: unset
[  138.468171] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  138.468176] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.468180] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.468183] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.468187] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.468191] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.468195] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm)
[  138.468235] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: JP
[  138.473603] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: JP
[  138.473612] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: JP
[  138.473615] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  138.473620] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.473624] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.473628] cfg80211:   (4910000 KHz - 4990000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[  138.473632] cfg80211:   (5030000 KHz - 5090000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[  138.473635] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.473639] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  138.473643] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)

and the thing overwriting the setting again without me doing anything a while later

[  147.725198] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[  147.731014] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[  147.731025] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: unset
[  147.731028] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  147.731033] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.731037] cfg80211:   (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.731041] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.731044] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.731048] cfg80211:   (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.731052] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 63720000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 0 mBm)
[  147.731079] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: JP
[  147.738678] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: JP
[  147.738689] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: JP
[  147.738692] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  147.738697] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.738701] cfg80211:   (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.738705] cfg80211:   (4910000 KHz - 4990000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[  147.738708] cfg80211:   (5030000 KHz - 5090000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[  147.738712] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.738716] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  147.738720] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 160000 KHz), (N/A, 2300 mBm)
[  158.396390] cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: GB
[  158.403475] cfg80211: Regulatory domain changed to country: GB
[  158.403478] cfg80211:  DFS Master region: ETSI
[  158.403481] cfg80211:   (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  158.403486] cfg80211:   (2402000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  158.403490] cfg80211:   (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  158.403493] cfg80211:   (5250000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2000 mBm)
[  158.403497] cfg80211:   (5490000 KHz - 5710000 KHz @ 80000 KHz), (N/A, 2700 mBm)
[  158.403501] cfg80211:   (57240000 KHz - 65880000 KHz @ 2160000 KHz), (N/A, 4000 mBm)

I guess I really have to somehow change the three digit information saved in the EEPROM, maybe someone has a hint which register/address to edit? I don't see what could be causing this otherwise. An it is quite peculiar I have to do this in the first place, I guess Atheros didn't care about Japanese linux users.

edit2: nevermind the part above, solved. Will add full instructions to the first post. Thanks for the help!

Last edited by Soukyuu (2014-04-12 18:50:04)


[ Arch x86_64 | linux | Framework 13 | AMD Ryzen™ 5 7640U | 32GB RAM | KDE Plasma Wayland ]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB