You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-15 05:13:08

FenrirAB

[SOLVED][GNOME] Network Notification Icon Tray on Top Panel

hello ArchCommunity,

first thing's first... I'm new to Arch (the cliche')
it was a miracle i made it (really, thanks to the well documented installation guide)

anyways a little back story. It took me 4 times to FINALLY install ArchLinux due to: (1) im an idiot; (2) wlan_0 BS (aka I'm an idiot) (3)didnt install xorg for GNOME 3 (aka im an idiot)

anyways here we go... i manage to install GNOME 3, make sudo using visudo, and enable && start netctl-auto@wlan_0 via systemctl....

the wired network is good,
the wireless network is good,
everything's good...

... exept one thing, the Network Notification Icon Tray on Top Panel is not showing up...

i did a few things to maybe work it out
i used the GNOME NETWORK CONNECTION (GUI) and tried Adding a new Connection... but it seems i cannot edit the textfield (unclickable, untypeable textfields)

i tried going to Setting >> Network... but a new optionpane states that "The system network services are not compatible with this version"... i tried Adding Network Connection but im not familiar with the 4 choices it brought up... VPN, Bond, Bridge, VLAN

i can see that my network is working because when i go to Network Tool (GUI) i can see all the stats and connection... plus im writing on a forum...

anyways.. long story short:

i just want the Network Notification Icon Tray on my top panel...
any help will be greatly appreciated

THANKS IN ADVANCE! ^_^

Last edited by FenrirAB (2014-04-16 19:58:12)

Then she sighed and squealed and kicked the air,
She sang: my bear so fair and off they went,
The bear, the bear and the maiden fair

#2 2014-04-15 05:26:45

ewaller
Administrator

Re: [SOLVED][GNOME] Network Notification Icon Tray on Top Panel