You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-30 21:50:55

Registered: 2012-08-29
Posts: 65

cannot resize root partition

i used gparted live in order to maximize the size of root partition but i can't

 Device    Boot     Start       End    Blocks  Id System
/dev/sda1           2048    718847    358400   7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 *       718848 586656347 292968750   7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3      612048894 976771071 182361089   5 Extended
/dev/sda4      586657792 612046847  12694528  83 Linux
/dev/sda5      967215104 976771071   4777984  82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6      612048896 967213055 177582080  83 Linux
Number  Start   End    Size    Type      File system     Flags
 1      1049kB  368MB  367MB   primary   ntfs
 2      368MB   300GB  300GB   primary   ntfs            boot
 4      300GB   313GB  13.0GB  primary   ext4
 3      313GB   500GB  187GB   extended
 6      313GB   495GB  182GB   logical   ext4
 5      495GB   500GB  4893MB  logical   linux-swap(v1)

i minimize the size of sda6(home folder) in order to give more space to my root partition sda4 but i can't .gparted don't give the option to add the unallocated space to sda4.when i tried to adjust the partitions the swap partition was off

Last edited by kosgeter (2014-04-30 21:52:13)


#2 2014-04-30 23:45:09

From: Utrecht, NL
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 259

Re: cannot resize root partition

Did you try this after booting from a live-cd?

For what it's worth, I did the same a while ago using SystemRescueCd and it went (almost) flawlessly.


#3 2014-05-01 11:54:46

Forum Moderator
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,314

Re: cannot resize root partition

Moving to System Administration


#4 2014-05-01 16:03:18

Registered: 2014-04-22
Posts: 17

Re: cannot resize root partition

That's a no-no, you can't do that smile
To increase the size of sda4, there must be continuous free space after it.
In your case it's like


You first reduce sda6 and you get free space after it, you need to move sda6(not just resize it). Also you will need to delete sda5(which is your swap) and remake it.
sda4 - 10GB
sda5 - 4GB
sda6 - 100GB

delete sda5 and resize sda6:
sda4 - 10GB
4GB free space
sda6 - 50GB
50GB free space

move sda6:
sda4 - 10GB
50GB free space
sda6 - 50 GB
4GB free space

resize sda4 and create swap(sda7):
sda4 - 60GB
sda6 - 50 GB
sda7 - 4GB

Might I suggest that you use console tools instead of gparted(imho gparted is buggy). The tools in the arch install iso should do fine. Also you can't resize mounted partitions,  so you shouldn't try to touch your arch root partition while using it smile

Last edited by rand_x0r (2014-05-01 16:06:31)


#5 2014-05-03 09:01:50

From: USA
Registered: 2014-03-09
Posts: 22

Re: cannot resize root partition

The previous poster is correct about needing to move sda6 so that there is free space at the end of sda4, but your swap partition, despite being named sda5, is at the of your disk so there should be no reason to do anything to it.


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB