You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-17 14:36:57

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

[SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

I seem to have encountered the same problem with the upgrade to nfs-utils, discussed in this solved thread:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=183444

(I originally asked the question on that thread yesterday, before realizing it's probably bad etiquette. Reasking here in a new thread)

The only difference is that I am mounting shares to an Ubuntu client from an Arch server.
Enabling nfs-server.service on the server's systemd, as suggested in the thread,  failed to solve the issue.
Is there anything else I am supposed to do to restore mounting? I looked at  /etc/conf.d/nfs-common but did not find it very informative, I must say.

Help appreciated.

Cheers,

Stefano

Last edited by stefano (2014-07-20 21:32:32)

Offline

#2 2014-07-17 15:34:03

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,731

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

Does everything look right from the server side? Eg. do you see your shares when you run exportfs? Can you mount the shares on the server?

# exportfs
/srv/nfs4     	199.200.1.0/24
/srv/nfs4/bin 	199.200.1.0/24
/srv/nfs4/pub 	199.200.1.0/24
/srv/nfs4/pkg 	199.200.1.0/24
/srv/nfs4/lin 	199.200.1.0/24
# mount -v 199.200.1.110:pub /mnt/test
mount.nfs: timeout set for Thu Jul 17 11:33:25 2014
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4,addr=199.200.1.110,clientaddr=199.200.1.110'

But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#3 2014-07-18 13:17:04

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

Good suggestions. I pass the first test (exportfs), but I fail the second.

mount -v 192.168.0.4:/data /mnt/temp

shows the following:

mount.nfs: timeout set for Fri Jul 18 08:10:29 2014                                                               
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4,addr=192.168.0.4,clientaddr=192.168.0.4'                             
mount.nfs: mount(2): Connection refused                                                                           
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'addr=192.168.0.4'                                                           
mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6                                                                     
mount.nfs: portmap query retrying: RPC: Program not registered                                                    
mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=17                                                                    
mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Program not registered                                                      
mount.nfs: requested NFS version or transport protocol is not supported  

Unfortunately I know so little about nfs and networking in general thaty I can't figure out what is going wrong. Perhaps a version mismatch on nfs protocols?

Offline

#4 2014-07-18 13:20:42

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,731

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

It looks like nfs4 is tried first, but connection is refused so it falls back to nfs3. It might be helpful to see your /etc/exports and the output of exportfs .

Edit: I can't say for sure that it's valid, but the wiki indicates that nfs shares must reside in /srv .

Last edited by alphaniner (2014-07-18 13:23:11)


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#5 2014-07-18 13:24:59

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

Here is the verbose output from exportfs:

[stefano@polus ~]$ sudo exportfs -v                                                                               
/data     192.168.0.0/24 (rw,wdelay,insecure,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,mountpoint,sec=sys,rw,no_root_squash,no_all_squash)                      

my /etc/exports file is just one line long:

# /etc/exports

  /data       192.168.0.1/24(rw,fsid=root,no_subtree_check)

Offline

#6 2014-07-18 13:32:05

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,145
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

Is rpcbind running on both server & client?

Offline

#7 2014-07-18 13:50:37

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

It is.

client:

stefano@cleinias:~$ ps aux | grep rpcbind                                                                         
root      1203  0.0  0.0  23420   296 ?        Ss   Jul15   0:00 rpcbind                                          
stefano  15238  0.0  0.0  11752   904 pts/14   S+   08:49   0:00 grep rpcbind                                     

Server:

[stefano@polus ~]$ ps aux | grep rpcbind
rpc        466  0.0  0.0  30872  1200 ?        Ss   Jul15   0:00 /usr/bin/rpcbind -w 
stefano   7615  0.0  0.0   9008   852 pts/6    S+   08:47   0:00 grep rpcbind

Offline

#8 2014-07-18 14:04:16

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

alphaniner wrote:

Edit: I can't say for sure that it's valid, but the wiki indicates that nfs shares must reside in /srv .


This is news to me. I have used nfs for years (with Arch and other distros) and never put my shares in /srv. And my current setup did work smoothly until the last upgrade.

Offline

#9 2014-07-18 14:18:53

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,731

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

I don't have 'mountpoint' in my exportfs -v output:

/srv/nfs4     	199.200.1.0/24(rw,wdelay,root_squash,no_subtree_check,fsid=0,sec=sys,rw,secure,root_squash,no_all_squash)
/srv/nfs4/bin 	199.200.1.0/24(rw,wdelay,nohide,root_squash,no_subtree_check,sec=sys,rw,secure,root_squash,no_all_squash)
/srv/nfs4/pub 	199.200.1.0/24(rw,wdelay,nohide,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,sec=sys,rw,secure,no_root_squash,no_all_squash)
/srv/nfs4/pkg 	199.200.1.0/24(rw,wdelay,nohide,no_root_squash,no_subtree_check,sec=sys,rw,secure,no_root_squash,no_all_squash)
/srv/nfs4/lin 	199.200.1.0/24(ro,wdelay,nohide,root_squash,no_subtree_check,sec=sys,ro,secure,root_squash,no_all_squash)

But more importantly, your /etc/exports isn't in line with how nfs4 is supposed to be done. My /etc/exports:

/srv/nfs4		199.200.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,fsid=0)
/srv/nfs4/bin		199.200.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,nohide)
/srv/nfs4/pub		199.200.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,nohide,no_root_squash)
/srv/nfs4/pkg		199.200.1.0/24(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,nohide,no_root_squash)
/srv/nfs4/lin		199.200.1.0/24(ro,sync,no_subtree_check,nohide)

I never mount the top level (until today I actually thought it was impossible to do so), only the 'children.'

Re exporting from /srv , if it's true then it's definitely a new development. I moved all my exports from /mnt/nfs4 to /srv/nfs4 a few months ago, just because it seemed like good practice.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#10 2014-07-18 14:49:19

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

alphaniner wrote:

I don't have 'mountpoint' in my exportfs -v output:

/srv/nfs4

         
I never mount the top level (until today I actually thought it was impossible to do so), only the 'children.'

I never mount the top level either, but I listed the top level only in exportfs and mounted the children from the client. It had always worked...
At any rate, I tried listing all the children in /etc/exportfs and reloading it, but nothing changes. Still the same problem

Offline

#11 2014-07-20 21:31:26

stefano
Member
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED] Upgrade to nfs-utils 1.3 breaks mounting of nfs from....

Problem "solved", or rather, disappeared. It looks like the main issue was with rpcd on the server, which crashed repeatedly. A server update and several reboots later, the problem has disappeared, so I guess it was not related to the nfs-utils upgrade as I originally thought.

Marking as [SOLVED] (perhaps improperly).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB