You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-24 21:44:45

supergeek800
Member
From: Lawton, OK
Registered: 2014-09-19
Posts: 31
Website

Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I'm pretty sure you've probably already heard of this, although I had some trouble connecting to wifi via NetworkManager after today's update, the nature of my trouble is that it just couldn't connect, basically, it tried to connect for a few seconds, and then disconnected immediately, so I just temporarily switched to using netctl and wifi-menu until this is fixed, but is anyone else having trouble with NetworkManager concerning their wifi as well? I'm using a Realtek chip, btw.


PC: Arch Linux x64 | customized Cinnamon desktop | Latitude E6440 | Core i5-4310m | 16GB RAM | 500GB SSD | Das Model S Pro Soft Tactile keyboard | Logitech Trackman Marble trackball.
Audio: Sony STR-DH500 5.1ch AVR | Modified Koss Portapro headphones | Rockboxed Sansa Fuze | Realistic Minimus 11 front and rear satellite speakers + Minimus 7 center channel.

Offline

#2 2015-01-24 22:30:57

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,235
Website

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Well...

http://blogs.gnome.org/dcbw/2015/01/19/ … nager-1-0/

Try this:

https://wiki.gnome.org/Projects/Network … /Debugging

But in my experience that boils down to remove NetworkManager and use something else. Or if you had a version that worked, revert to that one.

Last edited by Alad (2015-01-24 22:37:08)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby

Offline

#3 2015-01-24 22:45:00

stiffitydoodah
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2015-01-23
Posts: 5

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I can confirm, I was getting similar behavior. I just downgraded to 0.9.10-4, and it's working again.

Offline

#4 2015-01-24 23:27:55

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 181

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I just did an update, and my problem wasn't losing connection, but with a seriously slow connection to the internet and a very sluggish system overall. Downgrading NM solved my issue.

Offline

#5 2015-01-25 11:35:40

medve540
Member
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 8

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I experienced the same issue like you, so I have reported the bug upstream: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=743472
If you have more details about the problem, please add that information to the bug ticket!

Offline

#6 2015-01-25 11:44:09

jonny
Member
Registered: 2014-10-11
Posts: 22

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

It affects me too, I'm using an "Intel Corporation Wireless 7260 (rev bb)".
Previous version is working flawlessly.

Offline

#7 2015-01-25 14:59:30

foggybrain
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 86

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Same issue here on two machines, downgrading networkmanager to 0.9.10.0-4 fixed all.

Was close to murdering neighbour thinking he was messing with my wifi

Offline

#8 2015-01-25 16:08:42

douglasanr
Member
Registered: 2015-01-25
Posts: 1

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

same here.

Offline

#9 2015-01-26 14:17:26

danyf90
Member
Registered: 2013-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Same here. Even downgrading networkmanager doesn't solve the problem

Offline

#10 2015-01-26 16:22:34

jonny
Member
Registered: 2014-10-11
Posts: 22

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

danyf90 wrote:

Same here. Even downgrading networkmanager doesn't solve the problem

Weird, you have to downgrade also the associated libs like libnm-gtk and libnm-glib.

Offline

#11 2015-01-26 18:07:31

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

You may also want to try alternative dhcp clients. In NetworkManager.conf:

dhcp=internal
#dhcp=dhclient
#dhcp=dhcpd

It seems to work for me right now.

Last edited by gdon (2015-01-26 18:08:01)

Offline

#12 2015-01-26 19:49:47

danyf90
Member
Registered: 2013-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

jonny wrote:
danyf90 wrote:

Same here. Even downgrading networkmanager doesn't solve the problem

Weird, you have to downgrade also the associated libs like libnm-gtk and libnm-glib.

Now it works smile
dchp=internal doesn't work with networkmanager 1.0

Offline

#13 2015-01-26 20:01:27

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

danyf90 wrote:

dchp=internal doesn't work with networkmanager 1.0

What do you mean it doesn't work? I had 2 successful WiFi connections since then. And dhcpd is not running anymore on my computer.

Offline

#14 2015-01-26 20:07:55

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Offline

#15 2015-01-26 21:41:51

danyf90
Member
Registered: 2013-10-02
Posts: 9

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

gdon wrote:
danyf90 wrote:

dchp=internal doesn't work with networkmanager 1.0

What do you mean it doesn't work? I had 2 successful WiFi connections since then. And dhcpd is not running anymore on my computer.

i wrote dchp instead of dhcp big_smile

Offline

#16 2015-01-26 23:11:51

tuzhucheng
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 1

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I had similar issues. My wifi is working again after downgrading networkmanager from 1.0.0-1 to 0.9.10.0-4 and network-manager-applet from 1.0.0-1 to 0.9.10.0-2.

Offline

#17 2015-01-28 14:07:28

vikstrous
Member
Registered: 2014-09-22
Posts: 4

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

I'm seeing the same issue, so let me know if I can help debug it. Confirmed that downgrading to 0.9.10.0-4 fixed it.

Offline

#18 2015-01-30 14:32:10

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

If your WiFi connexion keeps being reset every few seconds, please do as follows...

  • If you need DHCP on IPv6:

            downgrade to NetworkManager 0.9.10.0-* or try using dhclient instead of dhcpd.

  • If you only need DHCP on IPv4 (or if you have no idea of what we are talking about):

            use the new internal DHCP client by editing /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf as follows:

[main]
dhcp=internal
...

Telling us this is working is not helpful: we are glad for you but please understand that posting "downgrading works for me too" won't help anyone. Worse, this dilutes precious hints on the problem and alternative workarounds that allow you to use the last version with all the other enhancements.
Thank you.

Last edited by gdon (2015-01-30 20:08:13)

Offline

#19 2015-01-30 19:09:16

mlaml
Member
Registered: 2015-01-30
Posts: 5

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Hi,

unfortunately none of the mentioned workarounds regarding the dhcp=xxx option works.

I get the following error:

Jan 30 19:58:55 xxx NetworkManager[432]: <info>  (wlp3s0): device state change: ip-config -> failed (reason 'dhcp-start-failed') [70 120 15]

for both variants (dhcp=internal and dhcp=dhclient in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf).

Do I need to install an extra package or apply some other changes? The dhclient package is installed and the dhcpcd service is disabled.

The only way that works for me at the moment is to assign a fixed ip address. This is ok for now, since this is my own network here, but I would prefer to use DHCP.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Michael

Offline

#20 2015-01-30 20:20:50

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Hi,

You need to install dhclient with pacman if you plan to use it with NetworkManager.

The internal DHCP client is IPv4 only (for the time being) but it is directly integrated in NM 1.0.0. I would be very surprised if you got the error you mentionned with this option. If so, that either means that you are not using NM 1.0.0 or that you misspelled the option or that you did not properly restart the network services. If the error was different in this case, I would be curious to have it.

Did you restart your computer after each change in the configuration file? At least on my computer, systemctl restart NetworkManager.service was not enough to get the intended result.

Last edited by gdon (2015-01-30 20:21:44)

Offline

#21 2015-01-30 20:36:45

mlaml
Member
Registered: 2015-01-30
Posts: 5

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

gdon wrote:

Hi,

You need to install dhclient with pacman if you plan to use it with NetworkManager.

The internal DHCP client is IPv4 only (for the time being) but it is directly integrated in NM 1.0.0. I would be very surprised if you got the error you mentionned with this option. If so, that either means that you are not using NM 1.0.0 or that you misspelled the option or that you did not properly restart the network services. If the error was different in this case, I would be curious to have it.

Did you restart your computer after each change in the configuration file? At least on my computer, systemctl restart NetworkManager.service was not enough to get the intended result.

Hi gdon,

All required packages are installed:

dhclient 4.3.1-1
networkmanager 1.0.0-1

The content of /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf is (at the moment):

[main]
plugins=keyfile
dhcp=internal

## Set static hostname
#[keyfile]
#hostname=foobar

## HTTP-based connectivity check
#[connectivity]
#uri=http://nmcheck.gnome.org/check_network_status.txt

I rebooted every time I changed the configuration because I also suspected that just restarting the NetworkManager service might not be enough.

Might it be possible that NetworkManager ignores the settings in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf?

Cheers, Michael

Offline

#22 2015-01-30 20:49:05

gdon
Member
Registered: 2015-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Oh, that's interesting.

Just to be sure: your problem, at the begining, was the same as ours, wasn't it? NM was going through a connected/disconnected cycle. (my fault, did not read everything first)

What does journalctl has to say exactly about the whole DHCP procedure?

Did you try to connect to another WiFi access point? Did you try to "forget" this access point and try to reauthenticate from the begining?

EDIT: NM shouldn't ignore the settings but if it does journalctl will tell you.

Last edited by gdon (2015-01-30 21:18:08)

Offline

#23 2015-01-31 11:06:52

mlaml
Member
Registered: 2015-01-30
Posts: 5

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

Hi gdon,

yes, the problem was / is exactly the same. I posted the issue in another section on the forum, because I suspected the hardware as source of the problem first.
(https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=192956)

Here is the relevant output of journalctl:

Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: associating -> associated
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: associated -> 4-way handshake
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): supplicant interface state: 4-way handshake -> completed
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): Activation: (wifi) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) successful.  Connected to wireless network 'OpenWrt'.
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): Activation: Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) scheduled.
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): Activation: Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) started...
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): device state change: config -> ip-config (reason 'none') [50 70 0]
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: client_start: assertion 'priv->client_type != 0' failed
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): device state change: ip-config -> failed (reason 'dhcp-start-failed') [70 120 15]
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  NetworkManager state is now DISCONNECTED
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <warn>  (wlp3s0): Activation: failed for connection 'OpenWrt'
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): Activation: Stage 3 of 5 (IP Configure Start) complete.
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname kernel: wlp3s0: deauthenticating from xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx by local choice (Reason: 3=DEAUTH_LEAVING)
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): device state change: failed -> disconnected (reason 'none') [120 30 0]
Jan 31 11:52:49 myhostname NetworkManager[416]: <info>  (wlp3s0): deactivating device (reason 'none') [0]

As you can see, the connection to the wireless network itself is established but then NetworkManager complains about DHCP. I deleted all settings regarding the wireless network before I tried to connect.

This is a really weird behaviour - at least 'dhcp=internal' should work, shouldn't it?

This happens on three different wireless networks. The one that is mentioned in the log file ("OpenWRT") and two other ones (1x 2.4 Ghz, 1x 5Ghz - but this shouldn't be relevant).

Cheers,
Michael

EDIT: Ok, I am completely confused now. I configured NetworkManager to use dhcpcd (with dhcp=dhcpcd) and disabled IPv6 in the NetworkManager configuration ("OpenWRT" network). Effect: This wireless network worked with DHCP. Then I did the same with the 5 Ghz network (which is in fact hosted on the same Access Point using exactly the same settings, except for the frequency and the SSID) and NetworkManager crashed every time I tried to connect. Doesn't make any sense...
Anyhow, I then decided to give the "dhcp=dhclient" option one last try and suddenly it worked. journalctl now shows that NetworkManager is using dhclient to connect to the network and doesn't ignore the setting anymore. What the hell? IPv6 doesn't seem to work, but that's ok for now.

Last edited by mlaml (2015-01-31 11:59:15)

Offline

#24 2015-01-31 12:10:17

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: Issues regarding wifi with NetworkManager

mlaml wrote:

EDIT: Ok, I am completely confused now. I configured NetworkManager to use dhcpcd (with dhcp=dhcpcd) and disabled IPv6 in the NetworkManager configuration ("OpenWRT" network). Effect: This wireless network worked with DHCP. Then I did the same with the 5 Ghz network (which is in fact hosted on the same Access Point using exactly the same settings, except for the frequency and the SSID) and NetworkManager crashed every time I tried to connect. Doesn't make any sense...
Anyhow, I then decided to give the "dhcp=dhclient" option one last try and suddenly it worked. journalctl now shows that NetworkManager is using dhclient to connect to the network and doesn't ignore the setting anymore. What the hell? IPv6 doesn't seem to work, but that's ok for now.

If you have both dhcpcd and dhclient installed, networkmager will preffer dhclient so there is no need to configure network manager to use it.

From the man page regarding the dhcp= option:
"If this key is missing, available DHCP clients are looked for in this order: dhclient, dhcpcd, internal."


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB