You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-12 16:05:06

dummyc
Member
Registered: 2006-03-07
Posts: 15

eth0 eth1 constant reverse

Hello.
I have a lot of trouble with 2 nics switching places. eth0 is my via rhine nic on board(static ip 192.168.1.33). eth1 is SMC2802w wireless card(dhcp) using prism54 driver.
If I put lines in my /etc/rc.conf
eth0="eth0 192.168.1.33 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
eth1="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1)
gateway="default gw 192.168.1.254"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
NET_PROFILES=(main)
and than in /etc/network-profiles/main
INTERFACE=eth0
IFOPTS="192.168.1.33 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
GATEWAY="192.168.1.254"
DNS1="192.168.1.254"
and in /etc/conf.d/wireless
wlan_eth1="eth1 mode managed essid default"
WLAN_INTERFACES=(eth1)
as soon as I restart
wireless card becomes eth0 and on board card becomes eth1. Firmaware uploads no problem but my internet is gone. After that change if I go to above file and edit them in order that came with the boot:
I put lines in my /etc/rc.conf
eth0="dhcp"
eth1="eth1 192.168.1.33 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1)
gateway="default gw 192.168.1.254"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
NET_PROFILES=(main)
and than in /etc/network-profiles/main
INTERFACE=eth1
IFOPTS="192.168.1.33 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
GATEWAY="192.168.1.254"
DNS1="192.168.1.254"
and in /etc/conf.d/wireless
wlan_eth0="eth0 mode managed essid default"
WLAN_INTERFACES=(eth0)
If I reboot after above changes wireless card becomes eth1 and onboard card becomes eth0. My main card for internet is onboard card and wired lan.
What am I doing wronge. Thanks for help.
Andrey

Offline

#2 2006-03-12 16:39:06

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,685

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

Not sure it will help, but take a look at the "mixed up devices" section of this wiki page:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ude … _Each_Boot


oz

Offline

#3 2006-03-12 16:48:27

Sander
Member
Registered: 2006-02-26
Posts: 138

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

Yep, that (the explanation on the wiki) should do the trick. Worked for me, anyways.


You like cheese? You like peas? You'll love cheezy peas!

Offline

#4 2006-03-12 19:08:05

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

It worked for me too. But if you choose the "udev rules"-way, remember to use lan0 and wlan0 instead of eth0/eth1.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#5 2006-03-14 04:03:18

dummyc
Member
Registered: 2006-03-07
Posts: 15

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

Creating /etc/udev/rules.d/10-network.rules  didn't work for me at all Despite the file with proper MAC addresses for lan0 and wlan0 my wireless card came as eth0 which is not what I intended. I'll try with modules now.
Thanks for pointing me to this wiki page.
Andrey

Offline

#6 2006-03-14 04:31:40

dummyc
Member
Registered: 2006-03-07
Posts: 15

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

I deleted file /etc/udev/rules.d/10-network.rules. Than I added line in rc.conf
MODULES=(!usbserial via_rhine mii  prism54)
and prism54 still loads first as eth0. What am I doing wronge in here?
Andrey

Offline

#7 2006-03-14 05:41:12

dummyc
Member
Registered: 2006-03-07
Posts: 15

Re: eth0 eth1 constant reverse

I set in rc.conf
MOD_AUTOLOAD="No"
And listed all modules that I need in MODULES line with proper order for my eth0 and eth1  and my NIC's loaded properly. After that I came back to
MOD_AUTOLOAD="Yes" and only my NIC modules in proper order and so far I did 3 boots and they are in proper order.
Andrey

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB