You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-16 04:15:52

willy
Member
Registered: 2006-01-19
Posts: 53

ssh into own machine from remote host

Hi,

Can anybody how to do it, like what to install, how to set it up. I read some FAQ about it, but I still do not understand. I'm using ADSL and sharing it via router with my friends.

Offline

#2 2006-03-16 04:28:01

wrj
Member
Registered: 2006-02-21
Posts: 17

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

You basically have to have sshd installed and the daemon running on your computer.  Your firewall needs to be set up to let other trusted users enter on port 22.  That's a really general overview, for more details read up on ssh and iptables/firwalls.

Hope that helps


-w

Offline

#3 2006-03-16 04:31:10

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

You need openssh server

pacman -S openssh

add sshd to your rc.conf Daemons array, also u can start it with

/etc/rc.d/sshd start

Be sure ur router allow Port 22 (TCP) Incoming
edit /etc/hosts.deny and comment

ALL: ALL: DENY

NOTE the above comment will render ur system unsecure, a better alternative is to leave the /etc/hosts.deny and edit /etc/hosts.allow instead, add to /etc/hosts.allow

ALL: IP_ADDRESS

replace the IP_ADRESS with your friend's Ips seperated with spaces, if that's too hard just go with the first solution

Now to connect from other's PC u need to do as follow

ssh -l username YOU_MACHINE_IP

replace username with urs as well as ur ip, if they don't have Linux, u can use PuTTY

Offline

#4 2006-03-16 04:36:54

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Offline

#5 2006-03-16 04:46:22

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

Oh well i explained everything and forgot totally about the wiki DOH :oops:

Offline

#6 2006-03-16 04:53:57

willy
Member
Registered: 2006-01-19
Posts: 53

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

how do I get my machine IP?

Offline

#7 2006-03-16 05:43:59

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

'ifconfig' should output several things including your IP.

Dusty

Offline

#8 2006-03-16 06:11:45

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

willy wrote:

how do I get my machine IP?

http://www.whatismyip.com wink easier way... too bad many ads :s

@Dusty he might have a private IP so i think he'd be confused, better he gets it via a site

Offline

#9 2006-03-16 11:36:43

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 671
Website

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

_Gandalf_ wrote:
willy wrote:

how do I get my machine IP?

http://www.whatismyip.com wink easier way... too bad many ads :s

@Dusty he might have a private IP so i think he'd be confused, better he gets it via a site

Uh, that's for a computer connected directly to the Net, without any proxy/gateway beetween. Other than this case, what whatismyip.com will report is the proxy/gateway IP.
my 2 cents.


Seeded last month: Arch 50 gig, derivatives 1 gig
Desktop @3.3GHz 8 gig RAM, linux-ck
laptop #1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (6H w/ 6yrs old battery smile) #2: ARM Tegra K1, 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#10 2006-03-16 11:49:22

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

Exactly!! Sorry i forgot to mention that, thx kozaki

Offline

#11 2006-03-16 12:59:09

willy
Member
Registered: 2006-01-19
Posts: 53

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

sorry guys, I still don't get it, say my gateway IP is 200.321.231.321 and my inet addr:10.0.0.13 from eth0 so how do I do ssh from remote host? Is it

 ssh -l user 200.321.231.321

Offline

#12 2006-03-16 20:43:09

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,018

Re: ssh into own machine from remote host

yes, and your router should be setup to forward port 22 to 10.0.0.13


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB