You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-05 12:29:14

t0mmyt
Member
Registered: 2015-07-05
Posts: 3

How to force band with a netctl profile?

I have a wireless network broadcasting on both a 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels with the same ESSID.  I'm in a very 2.4GHz polluted area but my laptop keeps defaulting to it (using netctl).

I've checked the man pages for netctl and done some searching but I can't seem to find anything where I can specify for the profile to either prefer or force using the 5GHz channel.

Any suggestions on something I've missed?  Or should this be a feature request?

Offline

#2 2015-07-05 12:32:06

graysky
Member
From: /usr/share/zoneinfo/US/Eastern
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,179
Website

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

...why are you using the same ESSID for two different radios?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2015-07-05 12:40:31

t0mmyt
Member
Registered: 2015-07-05
Posts: 3

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

To allow roaming between the two, it's no different to having multiple APs on the same network on varying channels.

Plus Network Manager has a preferred band option as far as I remember.

Offline

#4 2015-07-05 13:52:39

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 4,350
Website

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

You can use wireless_tools to set the frequency for the interface:

# iwconfig <interface name> freq 5G

You should probably use `iw` instead:

# iw dev <interface name> set freq 5000

http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Docum … cy_with_iw

Write a udev rule to set this at boot up:

# /etc/udev/rules.d/70-wifi-frequency.rules
ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="net", KERNEL=="wlan*", RUN+="/usr/bin/iw dev %k set freq 5000"

.- .-. -.-. ..../.. .../- .... ./-... . ... -

Arch Linux Help Guide   •   How to report a problem

Offline

#5 2015-07-05 15:03:39

graysky
Member
From: /usr/share/zoneinfo/US/Eastern
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,179
Website

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

t0mmyt wrote:

To allow roaming between the two, it's no different to having multiple APs on the same network on varying channels.

Plus Network Manager has a preferred band option as far as I remember.

...but in this case, I am assuming that both the 2.40 and 5.00 GHz transmitters reside in the same piece of hardware, no?


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2017-09-07 08:01:57

yuvadm
Member
From: Tel Aviv-Jaffa, Israel
Registered: 2012-08-08
Posts: 87
Website

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

Bump, curious if anyone found a good solution for this. Same SSID for 2.4+5Ghz is a common scenario, I'd love to force 5Ghz on such networks.

Offline

#7 2017-09-07 09:07:47

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 2,699

Re: How to force band with a netctl profile?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB