You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-08 00:51:10

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

After the upgrade i cant get my network to work, i have reinstalled nforce drivers, removed and installed again... but it keeps poping this:


]# /etc/rc.d/network start
SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable                    [ FAIL ]

I've tried with forcedeth instead of the nforce ones, and still get the same error, i have modules autoload on yes, no blacklist, and the manual modules only loads a usb controller that the autload forgets.

This is with the 2.6.16.1-8 version of the kernel26.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!

NOTE:
Please see this "PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:40 pm"
To see the last update on the problem!


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#2 2006-04-08 03:44:55

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

post the output of "dmesg | grep -i eth" and "ifconfig -a" -- obscure any IPs you don't want publicly known, of course.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#3 2006-04-08 04:51:46

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, here's what i have:

]# dmesg | grep -i eth0
eth0: No IPv6 router present
eth0: No IPv6 router present
eth0: No IPv6 router present

The ifconfig -a prints an almost default eth0, but the ip address is missing, also are the bcast and the mask. (Its in another machine, i cant copy and paste right now, not even to removable media).
Also prints a loopback and a sit0 (i read is a virtual tunnel for ipv4 to ipv6 or something like that).

I think i had this problem another time, but i cant remember how i solved it, now i searched all over the forum for ipv6 related issues, and i disabled it with the
alias ipv6 off
alias net-pf-10 off

thing in modprobe.conf, but it still isnt working...

Any ideas?

ps.
Im using DHCP and even tried with static IP, its the same for both.
My ethernet is a nvdia one, with an nforce3 chipset.


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#4 2006-04-08 04:59:36

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Well, no modules are being loaded for eth0.  Please run that command again w/o the 0 at the end of it for more complete info.  Have you tried adding nforce or forcedeth to your modules section of /etc/rc.conf and rebooting?

You should probably start a new thread in one of the sub-fora though.  Although this thread was well hijacked long before your post, you'll probably get more and better help that way.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#5 2006-04-08 21:08:09

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Yes, i thought it had to do with the kernel update as i saw some others with similar network and sound problems... but i guess you are right... would a forum moderator please split from my first post? There were no other post after mine and snarkout's.
If not, i can copy and paste it into another thread, but i dont think thats the cleanest way.

Regards.


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#6 2006-04-08 21:19:43

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

sud_crow wrote:

would a forum moderator please split from my first post? There were no other post after mine and snarkout's.
If not, i can copy and paste it into another thread, but i dont think thats the cleanest way.

Regards.

Done. Feel free to edit the title if you wish.

Offline

#7 2006-04-08 21:34:34

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Thanks Penguin. The title is perfect.
I will have to open another topic though because trying to fix this i just screwed the whole system. Im trying with livecds, but its a no go. Freaking lilo.

Ohh well, back to topic, and answering snarkouts last post:
I tryed adding them manually to the line MODULES, but it was the same problem, the modules seem to load just fine, but i dont get the problem, as soon as I fix the above problem im going to check dmesg for eth and the modules to see what is saying about them.

Edit:
Here is the other topic, just in case>
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?p=155752#155752


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#8 2006-04-08 23:26:00

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

OK, here is the update after getting my pc back:

I tried loading with MODULES and disabling MOD_AUTOLOAD, the same thing.

I tried using both the open source forcedeth and the nforce ones.

The dmesg ! grep -i eth returns the same thing as before, except that this time there are a couple of extra lines using forcedeth, one is info about being reverse engeniered and the other is something with two hexa numebers being bounded... maybe a MAC address. but they are too short:

[..]
eth0: forcedeth.c: subsystem 010d:0c11 bound 0000:00:05.0
eth0: No IPv6 router present 

note: the dmesg *!* is a ! because i cant find the pipe in this keyb.

---
Edit

I forgot this:
A couple of times, during the install of the nforce drivers i got something about the net interface being busy.
Another time, with the forcedeth said something about the link time expired and something similar to the SIOADDR...
Also i just saw the full dmesg output, to see if i found something similar to this, and here is what i found:

nv_stop_tx: TransmitterStatus remained busy

Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#9 2006-04-10 00:30:25

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Update:

Im trying to reinstall nforce, when this error started to show:

Apr 9 23:30:05 archcrow unregister_netdevice waiting for eth0 to became free. 
Usage Count 7

I am _this_ close to reinstall the system, i need to get this working soon sad


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#10 2006-04-12 03:17:14

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Allright, i didnt reinstall, i got it (kind of) working.

I disabled the DHCP from the router, then edited /etc/rc.conf to this:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
#eth0="dhcp"
eth0="192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

Then restarted the PC, restarted the router... and! voila! a whole new ERROR!

SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
192.168.1.2: unknown interface: No such device
192.168.1.2: unknown interface: No such device

This results with the ethernet not being started at boot time, and i have to manually set it with ifconfig.

Is there something wrong with my rc.conf?
I have the forcedeth module in the MODULES line, as the auto loader doesnt ... load it.

This isnt the best solution, but at least is somewhat working. I would like to know what happend to the DHCP client that cant refuses to get the IP from the router (the router is working fine, as other PCs get the IP)


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#11 2006-04-12 09:55:49

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

The new error you posted indicates that there is no eth0 device when /etc/rc.d/network is run during boot. This means that the module has not been loaded at that stage, although I can't say why. The fact that ifconfig works at a later stage seems to indicate that the module does load eventually. I suspect that you could do /etc/rc.d/network start or dhcpcd eth0 after boot instead of ifconfig, and they would also work.

Unfortunately, none of this leads me to anything useful, like a solution - all I can suggest is another browse through dmesg and logs for anything relevant.

Offline

#12 2006-04-12 19:52:59

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

Yes, that's what i thought, if i do a /etc/rc.d/network start it doesn't print those, but if i make a restart it does (even thought the eth0 was already up).

i placed forcedeth almost at the beginning of the MODULES line, so i cant see why it does that.


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#13 2006-04-16 02:40:23

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: Kernel update-SIOCADDRT: Network is Unreacheable[ FAIL ]

The new error you posted indicates that there is no eth0 device when /etc/rc.d/network is run during boot. This means that the module has not been loaded at that stage, although I can't say why. The fact that ifconfig works at a later stage seems to indicate that the module does load eventually. I suspect that you could do /etc/rc.d/network start or dhcpcd eth0 after boot instead of ifconfig, and they would also work.

Unfortunately, none of this leads me to anything useful, like a solution - all I can suggest is another browse through dmesg and logs for anything relevant.

I still have this issue with the network, although i dont reboot to often, i do from time to time, and if another person needs access to internet, and the machine was rebooted, they dont know how to do it (and i dont plan to leave the root password in a guideline note to get internet access).

I just rebooted and noticed this, it prints the previous message during boot:

:: Starting Network                                                      [BUSY] SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
192.168.1.2: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable
                                                                         [FAIL]

Then after i login, if i try

/etc/rc.d/network start

I get the same error

So, i have to do this:

[root@archcrow crow]# ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.2
[root@archcrow crow]# ifconfig eth0 mtu 1492
[root@archcrow crow]# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:01:99:F2:0D:00
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::201:29ff:fef2:d40/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:105 (105.0 b)  TX bytes:468 (468.0 b)
          Interrupt:17 Base address:0x4000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

[root@archcrow crow]# ping www.yahoo.com
connect: Network is unreachable
[root@archcrow crow]# /etc/rc.d/network start
:: Starting Network                                                      [DONE]


I dont understand whats going on, i dont have to load manually any module as if i do a lsmod i see forcedeth loaded and running (i have it in the MODULES line, in rc.conf file.

*Note: I modify the MTU just to get better performance per packet, as i have an adsl connection.


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB