You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-28 14:50:56

manica
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 28

aacraid not working. No drives visible to cfdisk.

I have a brand new Dell server that uses an Adaptec RAID controller requiring the aacraid module.  However, when I run the arch installer and use cfdisk there are no drives available to partition.  Oddly enough, if I don't run "/arch/setup" but instead run "cfdisk sda" from the prompt, I can see and partition the drive.  But, when I go back into the installer to set the mount points and proceed with installation, it once again has no drives.

dmesg indicates that the drives are properly detected (shows the module and drive size) and the fact that I can partition using "cfdisk sda" from the prompt indicates that the module is indeed loaded.  Any clue why the drives won't show up in the installer?

Darin

Offline

#2 2006-04-28 15:14:42

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: aacraid not working. No drives visible to cfdisk.

Don't forget to "write" the partition table to disk after editing it. It's a menu option in cfdisk.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2006-04-28 15:22:28

manica
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 28

Re: aacraid not working. No drives visible to cfdisk.

Yes, I did that.  I've installed Arch on dozens of machines without a hitch. 

Even with the drive partitioned and formatted correctly, the installer cannot see the drives.  It feels more like a kernel module issue, but I can't figure out why I can access the drives correctly from the rescue prompt but not when I run the installer.

Incidentally, if I select "cfdisk" from the rescue prompt without specifying sda, then cfdisk can't find the drives either.

As much as I hate to say it, Ubuntu installs without any trouble.  But I'd rather be running Arch.  :-)

Darin

Offline

#4 2006-04-29 05:00:31

manica
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 28

Re: aacraid not working. No drives visible to cfdisk.

Well, I got around this problem by installing from the .7 (wombat) release and then upgrading.  Now everything works great.

Darin

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB