You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-06 06:39:31

STREBLO

Using systemd-resolved with systemd-networkd

To use systemd-resolved the wiki says:

For compatibility with resolv.conf, delete or rename the existing file and create the following symbolic link:

# ln -s /usr/lib/systemd/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf 

Once I've made that symbolic link should I be editing '/etc/resolv.conf' and setting my name server manually? Right now /usr/lib/systemd/resolv.conf says:

nameserver 127.0.0.53 

But this doesn't work, isn't systemd-resolved supposed to be managing this?

If I don't seem like this and just set resolv.conf to my router manually, everything works fine, but the wiki says to use networkd with containers and have them set up DHCP automatically, you should be using resolvd.

#2 2016-09-06 15:27:34

ewaller
Administrator

Re: Using systemd-resolved with systemd-networkd

I am not an expert on this, to say the least. but the wiki says

For compatibility with resolv.conf, delete or rename the existing file and create the following symbolic link:

whetever that is supposed to mean.  For my generic home network where the router acts as a DNS server, I did not make that change to the link:

ewaller@turing ~ 1001 %ll /etc/resolv.conf
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 32 Oct 23  2015 /etc/resolv.conf -> /run/systemd/resolve/resolv.conf
ewaller@turing ~ 1002 %cat /etc/resolv.conf
# This file is managed by systemd-resolved(8). Do not edit.
#
# This is a dynamic resolv.conf file for connecting local clients directly to
# all known DNS servers.
#
# Third party programs must not access this file directly, but only through the
# symlink at /etc/resolv.conf. To manage resolv.conf(5) in a different way,
# replace this symlink by a static file or a different symlink.
#
# See systemd-resolved.service(8) for details about the supported modes of
# operation for /etc/resolv.conf.

nameserver 192.168.1.1
nameserver 2602:100:8ae5:dac6::1
ewaller@turing ~ 1003 %cat /usr/lib/systemd/resolv.conf