You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-17 17:04:38

arch23

[Solved]Help installing and configuring grub2

Hi, I have used Linux before, but I was amazed from the first time I saw Arch.
But because of University I have use Windows too, so I tried a dual-boot system with arch and windows, but I just got a grub-rescue in the end.
So I studied grub and UEFI, as I have a GPT-UEFI system.
But I have some doubts about grub and how the boot partition should be:
Can I just use the boot partition from windows as my boot partition?
as I'm new to arch, I will break it and reinstall a lot, can I install grub outside of arch? so I can delete arch and still have grub?
And the most I'm struggling with, how do I structure my boot partition? I have seem /boot/efi and /boot/efi/EFI, and even just installing grub in /boot/grub, is it important where I install grub?

Sorry for the noob questions and the bad english,
Thanks from Brazil.

Last edited by arch23 (2016-09-17 19:31:58)

#2 2016-09-17 17:24:25

null

Re: [Solved]Help installing and configuring grub2

I neither use Grub nor UEFI but did you try those quite comprehensive wiki articles about this topic:

UEFI: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Un … _Interface
Grub: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB
And about dual booting windows: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Du … th_Windows

#3 2016-09-17 17:37:55

arch23

Thank you for replying, yes I have read then, and I'm still struggling with grub, I follow the step and boot direct in to windows or grub-rescue
after reading the page from the wiki and documentation from grub I tried using this comand:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=ESP --bootloader-id=grub --boot-directory=ESP

to try installing grub in the boot partition, not the Arch partition, but it boots directly in windows, and if I force from bios to boot grub, it gives me a no system found.

#4 2016-09-17 17:48:05

null