You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-24 22:31:10

kadza

RAID0 Problems

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to arch so that is why i am posting here.

I have installed arch multiple times both on ssd and hd's but now i have come across machine that has 2 HDD (identical), and i want to run them in RAID0 my question is how do i format the partitions correctly since nothing on the wiki says how to partition the drives to get them ready for RAID setup.

I usually partition my non raid hdd like this.

1. boot (EF00 for UEFI) 1GB
2 swap(8200)
3. root(8300) 20GB
4. home(8302) ~

What would be the optimal thing to do when partitioning for RAID setup do i get 1GB boot on both HDD or 0.5GB distributed across those two. I would be super grateful if somebody is to help me our or at least point me out to good read so i can handle this.

#2 2016-11-25 04:13:26

fukawi2
Ex-Administratorino
Website

Re: RAID0 Problems

The wiki covers setting up RAID, including partitioning the drives: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/RA … he_Devices

There is also an article covering installation on RAID: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/So … ID_and_LVM

I would strongly caution you against using RAID0 though. The zero stands for how much data will remain if a drive fails, and with 2 drives you are twice as likely to experience a failure as you are with a single drive.

#3 2016-11-25 13:22:23

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Website

Splitting each logical partition across physical hardware just for the sake of splitting it across hardware is a horrible idea.  You'd get the worst of both worlds (or really the worst of many worlds) for no benefit at all.