You are not logged in.

#1 2006-07-16 22:54:57

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

wireless questions

Hi!

This is my first time with wireless setup.

I installed wireless_tools, ipw2200-fw, rebooted and... it works (I unplugged ethernet cable and I still have access).

So my question is not about how to make it work, my question is - how my system knows which wireless network use?

I configured it this way:

eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

iwconfig shows:

lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"wiotel-net"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:30:1A:09:38:2D
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=8/0
          Retry limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=84/100  Signal level=-46 dBm  Noise level=-85 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

eth1      no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

Could you tell me what happened with my cable ethernet device? Is it eth1 now? How can I choose wireless network? It works out of box but I don't understand the details sad

Offline

#2 2006-07-16 23:28:44

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 776
Website

Re: wireless questions

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ude … _Each_Boot

ahhh the wiki.  Answers so many questions.

Offline

#3 2006-07-16 23:35:49

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: wireless questions

But what about my question about different wireless networks?

Offline

#4 2006-07-18 13:16:31

alexpnx
Member
From: Nicosia, Cyprus
Registered: 2006-06-10
Posts: 46

Re: wireless questions

check out /etc/conf.d/wireless

Offline

#5 2006-07-18 13:56:04

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: wireless questions

Actually you should look at /etc/network-profiles - /etc.conf.d/wireless is only if you use wifi-radar

Offline

#6 2006-07-18 16:21:24

Ryujin
Forum Fellow
From: Centerville, Utah
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 246
Website

Re: wireless questions

or give network manager a try, it is in the AUR and in testing, it allows you to easily switch between networks and from wireless to wired

Offline

#7 2006-07-18 17:10:27

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,432
Website

Re: wireless questions

You could always try windows too! roll

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB