You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-06 12:16:33

TheGiwi
Member
Registered: 2018-04-06
Posts: 4

[Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

Hi all,

have been running into issues with chromium/ inox lately. On launch, which takes very, very long, I get the following message:

ERROR:object_proxy.cc(626)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.Notifications.GetCapabilities: object_path= /org/freedesktop/Notifications: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

Said problem was also discussed here, but no solution was given. ( https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=234254 )

Any ideas? Help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers!

Last edited by TheGiwi (2018-04-07 06:14:30)

Offline

#2 2018-04-06 12:32:09

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,439

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

The solution in the linked thread was to add a notification handler. What environment are you running in? Do you have a notification server set up? If you have one, what does your session in general look like? What is the output of

loginctl show-session $XDG_SESSION_ID

Online

#3 2018-04-06 12:41:26

TheGiwi
Member
Registered: 2018-04-06
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

Thanks for the quick reply.

Output looks as follows:

Id=c2
User=1000
Name=paul
Timestamp=Fri 2018-04-06 14:21:09 CEST
TimestampMonotonic=9211322
VTNr=1
Seat=seat0
Display=:0
Remote=no
Service=sddm
Desktop=KDE
Scope=session-c2.scope
Leader=463
Audit=0
Type=x11
Class=user
Active=yes
State=active
IdleHint=no
IdleSinceHint=0
IdleSinceHintMonotonic=0
LockedHint=no

Might be important to note that I am not using any of the GUI elements of KDE on my Desktop. Only have Latte Dock and that's it. Do the rest via the search function. I am not sure whether that would affect the built in notifcation server, I would assume not.

Many thanks!

Last edited by TheGiwi (2018-04-06 13:20:42)

Offline

#4 2018-04-06 13:04:10

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,439

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

Mhm but that matches the reports in the other thread. Try to add a notification widget somewhere and/or check if lattedock provides a setting to show notifications.

In general for the future when posting command line output, please wrap it in [ code ] tags. That said that output looks fine, so the session in general is set up correctly.

Last edited by V1del (2018-04-06 13:05:00)

Online

#5 2018-04-06 13:22:09

TheGiwi
Member
Registered: 2018-04-06
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

Ok, fixed the tag situation.

Also, added a notification widget on the desktop which seems to solve the problem. What does the notification widget actually do? Is there a possibility for having it running in the background without actually having the widget flying arount?

Many thanks!

Offline

#6 2018-04-06 15:02:00

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 16,203

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

Add it to a panel or use sth. like "pacman -S dunst"

Offline

#7 2018-04-07 06:12:25

TheGiwi
Member
Registered: 2018-04-06
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] Chromium org.freedesktop error on startup

seth wrote:

Add it to a panel or use sth. like "pacman -S dunst"

Ok, so it looks like I solved it. Didn't need any panels or dunst, thanks for the suggestions anyway (it worked with dunst too)!

As so often, the ArchWiki did the trick ( https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … Standalone ).

I added the

org.freedesktop.Notifications.service

with the following content

[D-BUS Service]
Name=org.freedesktop.Notifications
Exec=/usr/lib/notification-daemon-1.0/notification-daemon

in

/usr/share/dbus-1/services

To my understanding this tells the dbus.service to launch the/ a notification daemon.

I am not sure whether this is the actual solution, since inox/ chromium still give me the errors on startup, but opening them now doesn't take ages anymore but is as quick as it used to be!

Many thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB