You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-04 12:00:23

madpet

Secure way to work on office Arch machine from home?

Hi all, I'll be honest: Networking is not really my expertise, but I want to improve and also learn more about security best-practice.

Currently, I have a computer running Arch in the office, behind a ZyXeL router, and at home I have my home iMac. I often work on the same code (I work as a programmer) from home and from the office, and use a git repo, Tresorit and sometimes Box.com to keep things in sync. However, from a security standpoint, the moment the files are synced to my home iMac, it becomes a liability - especially because I use it for much more than just work stuff, so I really want to reduce it to having as little stuff locally as possible, so sensitive data doesn't 'leave the office' so to speak.

Thus, I'm searching for a way to, if I have the day off but still want to get work done, get on my home iMac and connect to my office Arch machine and then work directly on it through a remote connection and saving the work saves it directly on the work Arch machine, so once I disconnect nothing work-related is left on my home iMac.

I'm comfortable in a terminal and already use SSH to edit stuff on our company servers on DigitalOcean, so using SSH to work from home seems like an ideal solution, although I'm having problems setting up a OpenSSH Server, especially with the office router - I'm aware that I need to open up some sort of port forwarding for it to work, but OTOH I don't want to accidentally expose the entire office to new security vulnerabilities from having an open router, so I only want to open up the bare necessities... whatever those are.