You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-25 21:19:49

lenhuppe
Website

SOLVED: Securing a home network

SOLUTION:

I followed the instructions in a PKI tutorial located here: https://pki-tutorial.readthedocs.io/en/ … index.html

After completing all three exercises, adapting the expert PKI to my needs was a straight forward process.

- OP

My latest project is deploying a Nextcloud server on my home network using Nginx.

I have been advised to get HTTP/2 running on this system with GnuTLS.

I am trying to run follow the instructions here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GnuTLS   

And here: https://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-enabl … -in-nginx/

When I run "certtool -s ..." I get a lot of questions that I don't have the answers for.

A closer look at GnuTLS revealed that there are numerous ways to use it.

It has been 15 years since I worked in IT and I have no experience with SSL or TLS.

What is the best way to secure a home network and maybe even get HTTP/2 running?

Last edited by lenhuppe (2019-05-08 01:40:50)

Why do we drive on the parkway and then park in the driveway?

#2 2019-02-25 21:28:50

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
Website

Re: SOLVED: Securing a home network

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

#3 2019-02-25 22:11:23

lenhuppe
Website

Are you referring to the Certbot package?

#4 2019-02-25 22:54:35

loqs

lenhuppe wrote:

My latest project is deploying a Nextcloud server on my home network using Nginx.

Why GnuTLS in particular?

lenhuppe wrote:

When I run "certtool -s ..." I get a lot of questions that I don't have the answers for.

See man 1 certtool FILES section.
If you require a certificate signed by a Certificate Authority then Certbot would be relevant (would also need a domain issued by a Domain Registrar)

#5 2019-02-25 23:03:22

lenhuppe
Website

loqs wrote:
lenhuppe wrote:

Why GnuTLS in particular?

lenhuppe wrote:

See man 1 certtool FILES section.