You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-09 03:50:40

jernst
Member
From: Silicon Valley
Registered: 2014-03-04
Posts: 260
Website

host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

I've been running the same systemd-nspawn container for some time, always with the same options:

systemd-nspawn -b -n -D dir -M name --bind /home -x

It would always bring up the virtual ethernet link immediately during boot. But since a recent Arch (host) upgrade (I think), the virtual ethernet link host0 now stays "down" during boot of the container:

[container]# ip addr
...
2: host0@if16: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c6:20:a3:f7:c4:3c brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff link-netnsid 0

I can manually bring it up, and then all is well:

[container]# ip link set host0 up
[container]# ip addr
...
2: host0@if16: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether c6:20:a3:f7:c4:3c brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff link-netnsid 0
    inet 192.168.75.70/28 brd 192.168.75.79 scope global dynamic host0
       valid_lft 3598sec preferred_lft 3598sec
    inet6 fe80::c420:a3ff:fef7:c43c/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Did something change in the required configuration?

I am using the exact config file from upstream: https://github.com/systemd/systemd/blob … t0.network

Puzzled ...

Offline

#2 2019-09-09 10:40:43

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,383

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

Is systemd-networkd running on both host and container ?

I am using the exact config file from upstream: https://github.com/systemd/systemd/blob … t0.network

You are aware /usr/lib/systemd/network/80-container-host0.network is provided by systemd pacakge ?
Did you create your own version of it ?


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2019-09-09 15:53:44

jernst
Member
From: Silicon Valley
Registered: 2014-03-04
Posts: 260
Website

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

I did, however, if I use the package default the behavior is the same, so that's not it.

Offline

#4 2019-09-10 09:31:14

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,383

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

quoting myself

Is systemd-networkd running on both host and container ?

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2019-09-10 09:31:39)


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2019-09-10 17:04:57

jernst
Member
From: Silicon Valley
Registered: 2014-03-04
Posts: 260
Website

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

Yes systemd-networkd is running in both. There is an error in the log, however:

systemd-networkd[404]: host0: Could not bring up interface: Invalid argument

which is strange, as this interface definitely exists (see above).

I have also posted to the systemd-devel list, but no cigar so far.

Offline

#6 2019-09-11 09:23:38

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 7,383

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

Cold you post journal from the container ?

Do things work If you downgrade to systemd 242.84-2 ?

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2019-09-11 09:23:56)


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#7 2019-09-12 02:42:14

jernst
Member
From: Silicon Valley
Registered: 2014-03-04
Posts: 260
Website

Re: host0 virtual link suddenly default down in systemd-nspawn container

I did this with 242.84-2 and just now upgraded to 243.0-1. Same results (except that in 243 I can't log into my container as root from the console any more because apparently the tty is not secure any more. Needs edit to /etc/securetty -- but that's a different issue)

Tried to downgrade further but I'm getting shared library errors and I don't want to brick my system.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB