You are not logged in.

#1 2019-12-08 09:22:32

Alto
Member
Registered: 2019-12-08
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Recently I was trying kvm, but I got the same error as other virtual devices. The virtual devices taken over by networkd seemed to have the same errors. I can't let virbr0 let networkd ignore a link like other virtual devices. Can anyone help I?

~
❯ ip a | grep virbr0: -A 5    
28: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
29: virbr0-nic: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master virbr0 state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 32:60:ce:f8:e5:da brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

~
❯ sudo virsh start win10lcsb 
Domain win10lcsb started


~
❯ ip a | grep virbr0: -A 5   
28: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
29: virbr0-nic: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master virbr0 state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 32:60:ce:f8:e5:da brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

~
❯ ip a | grep virbr0: -A 5
28: virbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::702b:edff:fe71:26b7/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

~
❯ sudo virsh destroy win10lcsb 
Domain win10lcsb destroyed


~
❯ ip a | grep virbr0: -A 5     
28: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::702b:edff:fe71:26b7/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
29: virbr0-nic: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master virbr0 state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 32:60:ce:f8:e5:da brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Last edited by Alto (2019-12-11 11:14:02)

Offline

#2 2019-12-08 11:17:43

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,919

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Welcome to archlinux forums, alto.

There are many ways to setup a network bridge, please show us the commands you used to setup virbr0 & virbr0-nic .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2019-12-09 11:18:33

Alto
Member
Registered: 2019-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Welcome to archlinux forums, alto.

There are many ways to setup a network bridge, please show us the commands you used to setup virbr0 & virbr0-nic .

❯ sudo cat /etc/libvirt/qemu/networks/default.xml
<!--
WARNING: THIS IS AN AUTO-GENERATED FILE. CHANGES TO IT ARE LIKELY TO BE
OVERWRITTEN AND LOST. Changes to this xml configuration should be made using:
  virsh net-edit default
or other application using the libvirt API.
-->

<network>
  <name>default</name>
  <uuid>a1ecc7eb-e3e7-4007-bf77-bc84338f867e</uuid>
  <forward mode='nat'/>
  <bridge name='virbr0' stp='on' delay='0'/>
  <mac address='52:54:00:23:5f:cc'/>
  <ip address='192.168.122.1' netmask='255.255.255.0'>
    <dhcp>
      <range start='192.168.122.2' end='192.168.122.254'/>
    </dhcp>
  </ip>
</network>

~
❯ sudo virsh net-start default                 
Network default started


~
❯ ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether bc:5f:f4:d2:49:d5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.6.230/24 brd 192.168.6.255 scope global dynamic enp3s0
       valid_lft 85937sec preferred_lft 85937sec
    inet6 fe80::be5f:f4ff:fed2:49d5/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
7: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
8: virbr0-nic: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master virbr0 state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 52:54:00:23:5f:cc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Offline

#4 2019-12-09 11:26:38

Alto
Member
Registered: 2019-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

In fact, for the docker that is also taken over by networkd, there is a situation that IPv4 is lost after ending a container. My approach is to make it unmanaged, but this method seems to be invalid for some virtual devices.


~
❯ cat /etc/systemd/network/docker0.network 
# Ensure that the 'docker0' interface is unmanaged

[Match]
Name=docker0

[Link]
Unmanaged=yes

Offline

#5 2019-12-09 18:41:25

Zod
Member
From: Hoosiertucky
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 630

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

FWIW, It's been my experience that default.xml is closely guarded (libvirtd?) and will be overwrote at the first opportunity.

I created other objects (storage pools) to fit my needs and leave default alone. I just keep that in mind while doing other tasks.

Offline

#6 2019-12-10 12:21:13

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,919

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Content of default.xml suggest it can be changed, but only by doing it the correct way.

Alto, default.xml gives some settings of the bridged network, but nothing about how the bridge was setup .
virbr0-nic for example isn't even mentioned in it.


What did you use to setup the network bridge
-  CLI commands
-  a libvirt tool like virsh , virt-manager , virt-install
-  NetworkManager
-  something else ?

Please elaborate.

Also post the outputs of brctl show  and ip link .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#7 2019-12-10 14:21:44

Alto
Member
Registered: 2019-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Content of default.xml suggest it can be changed, but only by doing it the correct way.

Alto, default.xml gives some settings of the bridged network, but nothing about how the bridge was setup .
virbr0-nic for example isn't even mentioned in it.


What did you use to setup the network bridge
-  CLI commands
-  a libvirt tool like virsh , virt-manager , virt-install
-  NetworkManager
-  something else ?

Please elaborate.

Also post the outputs of brctl show  and ip link .

As you can see, I use virsh to create the network bridge

~
❯ brctl show 
bridge name	bridge id		STP enabled	interfaces
virbr0		8000.722bed7126b7	yes		virbr0-nic

~
❯ ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether bc:5f:f4:d2:49:d5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 72:2b:ed:71:26:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: virbr0-nic: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel master virbr0 state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 52:54:00:23:5f:cc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

Offline

#8 2019-12-10 15:12:37

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,919

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

That page only uses virsh to setup the client part for bridging .

For configurating the host part of the bridge they have instructions for several distors, but not archlinux .

I think your troubles with ipv4 addresses have to do with the host part of the bridge.

I'll rephrase my question :
How did you setup the host part of the network bridge ?

Don't answer with a link to a webpage that deals with many things, be specific .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#9 2019-12-11 11:25:28

Alto
Member
Registered: 2019-12-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] virbr0 just doesn't seem to want it's IPv4 address

Lone_Wolf wrote:

That page only uses virsh to setup the client part for bridging .

For configurating the host part of the bridge they have instructions for several distors, but not archlinux .

I think your troubles with ipv4 addresses have to do with the host part of the bridge.

I'll rephrase my question :
How did you setup the host part of the network bridge ?

Don't answer with a link to a webpage that deals with many things, be specific .

Thank you for your help. I checked the settings of the host network bridge in detail according to your prompt. The error is that I misspelled a word, which caused networkd to use dhcp settings for other network bridges. I also solved other problems caused by this error.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB