You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-11 03:39:45

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

[SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

I've been trying to install Arch Linux on virtual box before I install it on my computer, but I have been running into some issues. After following the Arch wiki installation and I reboot the OS it does not boot how an OS would after it was  installed. It just shows me the menu of Arch Linux as if I first fire up Arch Linux on virtual box showing the menu asking if I want to Boot Arch Linux (x86_64), Boot existing OS, etc. It also does not save anything from my host name, localhost name, nor my password the only part I have noticed that gets saved is the partition. Otherwise I have to start all over again from formatting the partition and running all the other commands for installation to only see the same problem again after I reboot. What am I doing wrong? I am running the virtual box on windows 10 and I do have UFEI if that does have an effect.

Last edited by coderAI (2020-05-11 07:38:16)

Offline

#2 2020-05-11 03:47:42

kermit63
Member
Registered: 2018-07-04
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

remove the arch installation ISO from the virtual drive before (re)booting, or alternatively, change the boot order to prioritize booting from the virtual hard drive.

Offline

#3 2020-05-11 04:17:54

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

Not sure if I did this correctly. After running the process again I shutdown the OS went to my virtual box right click the Arch Linux virtual machine went to settings then storage and de-attached the ISO from the IDE and when I tried running it I get an error saying Fatal: no bootable medium found! system halted. I am guess that is not what I was suppose to do what are the steps needed to take to remove the arch installation ISO from the virtual drive?

Offline

#4 2020-05-11 04:19:35

fukawi2
Administrator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,931
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

Sounds like you didn't install your boot loader properly. What were the commands you used to do that?

Offline

#5 2020-05-11 04:30:11

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

I did not run any commands for the bootloader I am guessing this is why i am having an issue. I am running an intel processor what commands should I type in?

Offline

#6 2020-05-11 04:32:10

fukawi2
Administrator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,931
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

How are you installing Arch? The instructions are in the Installation Guide, so if you're following that you should have done it.

Offline

#7 2020-05-11 04:33:38

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 23,892
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

The last step in the installation guide directs you to install a boot loader and links to information on how to select and install one.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#8 2020-05-11 04:56:06

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

I honestly at a lost at this point I never had to install a boot loader before but I would like to learn how to. On the last step on the installation guide I clicked on the bootloader link but i didn't find any commands on installing a bootloader. I then clicked on link the on microcode and I installed intel-ucode package. I rebooted the OS and i still got the same issue so obviously I am doing something wrong, how do I install the boot loader?

Offline

#9 2020-05-11 05:32:55

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,002
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

coderAI wrote:

how do I install the boot loader?

You choose the one you want to use, and then you follow the instructions on the relevant wiki page.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#10 2020-05-11 05:33:16

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

I read what the bootloader guide said and did some google seraching. I installed intel-ucode package and installed grub as well ran this command here grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg and I am still getting the same issue. Can anyone help?

Offline

#11 2020-05-11 05:56:04

kermit63
Member
Registered: 2018-07-04
Posts: 25

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

did you run grub-install /dev/sda (I'm assuming sda is your arch drive and you're using mbr/bios). Adjust accordingly if using efi/gpt.

Also, you don't really need intel-ucode since this is a virtual machine. Your actual cpu model is irrelevant to the VM since devices are virtualized.

Last edited by kermit63 (2020-05-11 05:57:15)

Offline

#12 2020-05-11 06:40:12

coderAI
Member
Registered: 2020-05-11
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] Arch linux will not properly install

I got it to work! Thank you everyone for helping I really appreciate it. Now I am off to learn some more.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB