You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-02 04:01:48

Winblowz

Does ArchLinux work well on a server?

I am still a newbie when it comes to setting up servers. I run my own home server on a Red hat based distro called ClarkConnect. It uses a nice web-based interface to control the system services, but I think I want to switch to something more advanced.

I haven't been using Arch for that long (on the desktop), but I love it, and I was thinking about using it for my server. My server pc is an AMD K6-2 500mhz. I've heard some posts say that it was i686 compatible, and others not.  I would like to at least try though smile

My main concern with using Arch on my server is #1 documentation, I've seen some articles on the Arch wiki about setting up a mail server, but not THAT much. Most of it had to do with complex configurations, while I only need a simple Dovecot/Postfix setup.

Another thing I've heard is that Arch is too unstable for use as a server. Can someone tell me if this will be a problem?

I'd really appreciate all comments.

#2 2006-10-02 05:13:15

The_Nerd
Website

Re: Does ArchLinux work well on a server?

I've been running Arch on my fileserver for about two years now.

It's seen many a "pacman -Syu" and most of the time its survived. I have had a few times where it has refused to boot, but after about 5 minutes with the arch install cd I have been able to fix things up right away.

All in all, I'd say it works well for my purposes as a webserver and file server, though I did look into mailserver documentation at one time and I deemed it too complex for my doing. It has since been a while, but I have yet to tackle it.

The nice thing about arch for me, is that since i'm farmilar with it on my desktop, I feel very comfortable working on it and maintaining it over say Debian or Gentoo.

If you're willing to spend some time on configuration of your mailserver then go for it. Heck, if you find an easier way to do things then add it to the Wiki!