You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-31 22:18:45

Observer

Picking the right container solution

Hi,

I'm searching a container solution for my home server which currently uses KVM for some heavy or special cases (like pfsense, or seafile). My idea is to use a container solution for some lighter cases and I tried docker because everybody talks about docker.

Yes, it worked but I'm not complete happy with it. The dockerfiles are nice for some easy cases but if I want a container with an application which only provides a interactive installer script with no way for an automatic install I can't write the necessary dockerfile.

So I got the tip with systemd-nspawn and LXC and I did some research. Both sounds nice. But as a complete newbie I can't estimate which solution more fits my needs for performance and security. I know the general "security problems" with containers (vs vms) but I prefer a solution which is more secure by design.

My problem is that I found only some rare information about this topics. And if I found some these are from 2017 or older. In my opinion, it does not make sense to base a decision on this old information. I could not find a direct comparison either. Often these are just simple feature comparisons, which are extremely superficial.

This is the reason why I try to get some help here. Maybe from people which tried both.

The main topics which I'm interested are:
- Performance
- Security
- NAT and bridge

From what I have seen so far, the two solutions seem to be equivalent in terms of their CLI. I could not cover topics such as security, stability or possible restrictions/limits in a meaningful way.

I am grateful for every contribution to this topic!

#2 2020-06-01 01:41:37

qinohe

Re: Picking the right container solution

For FreeBSD VM's running OPNsense NAS etc I simply use virtual bridges, the security is done by a VM running Snort and the Sense after that, no special or extra security like MAC etc.