You are not logged in.

#1 2020-07-15 12:31:16

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

Hello everyone,

    First of all, let me say that I've been searching and trying everything to solve this.
    I bought an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor CPU and a MSI X570-A-PRO about october/19.
    Well, as you may seen before, system panics, sometimes at boot, sometimes after while on x-server.
    I've already tried:
    - Turn of c6 trought scripts.
    - Change MOBOs settings. Power Idle, Global Cstate management etc.
    - Some kernel params:
      - idle=nomwait
      - processor.max_cstate
      - idle=poll
      - cpuidle.off=1
    - Use other kernel versions, linux-zen, linux-lts
   
   I've done a spreadsheet with possible combinations of all this params to check every single one, and nothing works.
   I have the latest MOBO's firmware installed. All my system packages are also updated.

   The only way I found to not throw this machine window away was to set maxcpus=2.
   One thing I've notice is that if I boot with all 12 cpus and run some stress application, system does not freezes. So I'm inclined to think that the "cpu waking up from idle" is the problem.

   Does anyone has/had this problem too?
   Does anyone had to manage it?

It's like almost an year since I bought a 6-core?/12cpu machine and able to use 1-core/2cpus. its very very very very frustrating.
No other distro works as well. (and windows is not an option lol)

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2020-07-15 13:14:54

Zod
Member
From: Hoosiertucky
Registered: 2019-03-10
Posts: 343

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Microcode

You didn't list this as "things you tried".

Offline

#3 2020-07-17 16:29:11

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

Zod wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Microcode

You didn't list this as "things you tried".


Hi Zod,

Yeah, i've already installed and than grub added itself during mkconfig

in my grub.cfg, there is:

initrd    /amd-ucode.img /initramfs-linux.img

Offline

#4 2020-07-17 20:01:48

thorstenhirsch
Member
Registered: 2005-08-03
Posts: 84

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

Try clocking down your RAM just a tiny bit below the specs, e.g. 3133 MHz instead 3200 MHz. And use the following kernel parameters:

rcu_nocbs=0-11 processor.max_cstate=5

Offline

#5 2020-07-17 20:09:25

Arup
Member
From: Earth
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 86

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

In BIOS turn off PBO and set idle current from auto to typical, fixed the same issues on my ryzen7 1700.

Offline

#6 2020-07-17 20:15:03

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

thorstenhirsch wrote:

Try clocking down your RAM just a tiny bit below the specs, e.g. 3133 MHz instead 3200 MHz. And use the following kernel parameters:

rcu_nocbs=0-11 processor.max_cstate=5

Just tried, it boots, freezes after 30 seconds =/

Offline

#7 2020-07-17 20:15:38

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

Arup wrote:

In BIOS turn off PBO and set idle current from auto to typical, fixed the same issues on my ryzen7 1700.

It is set to Typical =/

Offline

#8 2020-07-24 17:42:45

victor03303
Member
Registered: 2020-07-24
Posts: 3

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

@luidones
The same happens to me. Random crashes no matter what Linux distro I try. No matter what packages are installed or not.
I see that you know much more than me about motherboard settings and derivatives than me. I really didn't try anything with those.
I also (I'm sure you did that too) checked all my hardware for faults like RAM, S.M.A.R.T. etc but nothing to find. Changed GPU drivers, reinstalled my OS 20, 30 times over and over again, ran both the latset bios and a beta nothing helped.

motherboard: MSI x570-a pro
cpu:                Ryzen 5 3600X @4,250GHz
mem:              G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws 2x8GB 3600MHz @3600MHz

Since we both have the same motherboard do you think we should both try to contact MSI?

Last edited by victor03303 (2020-07-24 17:45:40)

Offline

#9 2020-07-24 18:19:09

mrazster
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2019-05-24
Posts: 16
Website

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

luidones wrote:

Hello everyone,

    First of all, let me say that I've been searching and trying everything to solve this.
    I bought an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor CPU and a MSI X570-A-PRO about........

victor03303 wrote:

The same happens to me. Random crashes no matter what Linux distro I try. No matter what packages are installed or not..............

I have similar hardware as you guys and haven´t any problems what so ever.
Spec as follow:

Ryzen 7 3700X
Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula X570
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3600mhz

So a couple off questions.

1. Have tried to play around with voltage and power draw e.t.c limits in UEFI ?
Although it should never be a problem, it is not uncommon that the manufactures screws up the default settings. Usually by overvolting but I have (during my 30 ears in building computers) encountered problems with to restrictive voltage and power draw limitations.
I have set my UEFI to very liberal settings and letting the system and cpu draw as much power and amps as it needs. Also rise the cpu vdroop settings a couple of notches so it gets the voltage it needs during load.

2. How is your ram set up in the UEFI ?
DOCP or manual timings and voltage ?

3. Have you tried to use the "systemd journal/logging" utility to see if it generates any errors that could point you in any direction ?

Last edited by mrazster (2020-07-24 18:20:12)


Arch...the way it was meant to be !!

Offline

#10 2020-07-25 18:48:30

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

victor03303 wrote:

@luidones
The same happens to me. Random crashes no matter what Linux distro I try. No matter what packages are installed or not.
I see that you know much more than me about motherboard settings and derivatives than me. I really didn't try anything with those.
I also (I'm sure you did that too) checked all my hardware for faults like RAM, S.M.A.R.T. etc but nothing to find. Changed GPU drivers, reinstalled my OS 20, 30 times over and over again, ran both the latset bios and a beta nothing helped.

motherboard: MSI x570-a pro
cpu:                Ryzen 5 3600X @4,250GHz
mem:              G.Skill DDR4 Ripjaws 2x8GB 3600MHz @3600MHz

Since we both have the same motherboard do you think we should both try to contact MSI?


hi victor, I also ran all kind of hardware tests and changed GPU drivers as well.
I did not install the new Bios (7C37vH86) cause im a little afraid of the beta status (lol).
I dont know if we could do something about it. Im not even sure if the problem resides on MOBO, I was hoping that this issue was related to the kernel cause I've found over the internet some user reports of the same problem on other MOBO branches.

I'll keep this topic updated as I discover (try) new stuff.
=]

Offline

#11 2020-07-25 18:51:24

luidones
Member
Registered: 2020-07-15
Posts: 6

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

mrazster wrote:
luidones wrote:

Hello everyone,

    First of all, let me say that I've been searching and trying everything to solve this.
    I bought an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor CPU and a MSI X570-A-PRO about........

victor03303 wrote:

The same happens to me. Random crashes no matter what Linux distro I try. No matter what packages are installed or not..............

I have similar hardware as you guys and haven´t any problems what so ever.
Spec as follow:

Ryzen 7 3700X
Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula X570
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3600mhz

So a couple off questions.

1. Have tried to play around with voltage and power draw e.t.c limits in UEFI ?
Although it should never be a problem, it is not uncommon that the manufactures screws up the default settings. Usually by overvolting but I have (during my 30 ears in building computers) encountered problems with to restrictive voltage and power draw limitations.
I have set my UEFI to very liberal settings and letting the system and cpu draw as much power and amps as it needs. Also rise the cpu vdroop settings a couple of notches so it gets the voltage it needs during load.

2. How is your ram set up in the UEFI ?
DOCP or manual timings and voltage ?

3. Have you tried to use the "systemd journal/logging" utility to see if it generates any errors that could point you in any direction ?

I did not tried to change this kind of settings.
I'll reboot my machine with all cores up to get the journal and will take pictures of the MOBO settings to post here.

=]

Offline

#12 2020-07-26 10:09:43

victor03303
Member
Registered: 2020-07-24
Posts: 3

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

I have the beta bios installed and I'm running it almost two weeks now. I thought with myself things can't get worse anyway. Of course I have the same result.

I've tried Arch distro's and debian based distro's (Windows is not allowed anymore on my system. I want a professionally grade of software running my pc. Not from wanna-be's). With all of them I've got the same behaviour. (I litterally lost count on how many times I reinstalled my system fearing my internet bill will increase because of that)

I'm only a daily Linux/GNU user since november 2019. So I still have much to learn about it. Only to read here that I have to learn to understand all the different voltages being used in the motherboard. I won't be bored the upcomming days

Offline

#13 2020-08-01 14:46:07

victor03303
Member
Registered: 2020-07-24
Posts: 3

Re: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 freezes

mrazster wrote:
luidones wrote:

Hello everyone,

    First of all, let me say that I've been searching and trying everything to solve this.
    I bought an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor CPU and a MSI X570-A-PRO about........

victor03303 wrote:

The same happens to me. Random crashes no matter what Linux distro I try. No matter what packages are installed or not..............

I have similar hardware as you guys and haven´t any problems what so ever.
Spec as follow:

Ryzen 7 3700X
Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula X570
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3600mhz

So a couple off questions.

1. Have tried to play around with voltage and power draw e.t.c limits in UEFI ?
Although it should never be a problem, it is not uncommon that the manufactures screws up the default settings. Usually by overvolting but I have (during my 30 ears in building computers) encountered problems with to restrictive voltage and power draw limitations.
I have set my UEFI to very liberal settings and letting the system and cpu draw as much power and amps as it needs. Also rise the cpu vdroop settings a couple of notches so it gets the voltage it needs during load.

2. How is your ram set up in the UEFI ?
DOCP or manual timings and voltage ?

3. Have you tried to use the "systemd journal/logging" utility to see if it generates any errors that could point you in any direction ?

My machine crashes when I overclock the cpu or the ram, or both of them or at stock settings. When I overclock I only use the overclock button provided by the mother board and or the xmp button. At this moment none of them are enabled. The voltages are:
cpu core voltage: 1,470V
cpu nb/soc voltage: 1.044V
vddg ccd voltage: 1.105V
vddg iod voltage: 1.105V
dram voltage: 1,2V
chipset soc voltage: 1.019V
chipset cldo voltage: 1.224V

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB