You are not logged in.

#1 2021-02-17 15:25:38

giedriusStan
Member
Registered: 2020-04-28
Posts: 5

Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

When I try to use speedtest.net, in the middle of downloading part of the test, I lose access to my network and the only way to fix it is to reboot my computer. I can reproduce the issue every time, but unfortunately I don't have any logs to share. I tried to initiate speedtest while having "journalctl -f" open, but no logs show up.
I also noticed that once in a while I lose network access while uploading files using samba. Help!

Offline

#2 2021-02-17 15:40:11

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,644

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

You should provide a great deal more information. 
Wired or wireless?
What are you using to control your network?
What chipsets does your NIC use?
How are you connected to the Internet?  A router you own?  A router owned by a school or business?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2021-02-17 15:55:08

giedriusStan
Member
Registered: 2020-04-28
Posts: 5

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

Wired, it's a home network
Router is Asus RT-AC66U B1

This is from "lspci -v" command:

08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation I211 Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
    Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation Device 1539
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
    Memory at dfa00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
    I/O ports at d000 [size=32]
    Memory at dfa20000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: igb
    Kernel modules: igb

Last edited by giedriusStan (2021-02-17 15:55:39)

Offline

#4 2021-02-17 16:34:01

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,644

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

NetworkManager? systemd-networkd? netctl? dhcpcd?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2021-02-17 16:46:47

giedriusStan
Member
Registered: 2020-04-28
Posts: 5

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

ewaller wrote:

NetworkManager? systemd-networkd? netctl? dhcpcd?

NetworkManager

Offline

#6 2021-02-17 17:43:58

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 17,644

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

Still trying to form a hypotheses. 

Is there anything of interest in your journal that is logged at the time of the loss of access?
What happens if you put the network down and then bring it back up?
Do any other computers on the network lose access when you do this?
Can you run speed test from other computers on the network without losing access?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2021-02-17 18:07:59

giedriusStan
Member
Registered: 2020-04-28
Posts: 5

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

ewaller wrote:

Is there anything of interest in your journal that is logged at the time of the loss of access?

No unfortunately, I couldn't find anything useful in there

ewaller wrote:

What happens if you put the network down and then bring it back up?

I have to confess I'm not familiar with the way it is done in arch via terminal, but I tried restarting NetworkManager service and nothing out of ordinary happens. Service status is "active" without any issues. I also tried disabling network and enabling it back from GNOME settings, but again nothing changes, network is still unavailable.

ewaller wrote:

Do any other computers on the network lose access when you do this?

No, other devices are totally fine

ewaller wrote:

Can you run speed test from other computers on the network without losing access?

Yes, but all other devices are running different OS

Offline

#8 2021-02-17 22:03:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 18,895

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

"journalctl -f" will only print the session log unless you're in the wheel or adm group.

Please post the complete system journal for a boot where this happened (eg. "sudo journalctl -b -1" for the previous boot)

When you "lose access to [your] network", what's the output of

ip a; ip r; ping -c3 8.8.8.8

When it happens, you could also try to (stop the networkmanager service and) reload the igb module  (and then restart networkmanager) to see wether that's enough to clear the stage.
igb also has a debug parameter, but we'll get there if the available information doesn't get us ahead.

Offline

#9 2021-02-18 10:28:44

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,894

Re: Losing network access if I use speedtest.net

Are you using speedtest-cli or accessing speedtest.net from a browser ?

If the latter, which browser ?


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB