You are not logged in.

#1 2021-03-25 16:17:56

goldieswx
Member
Registered: 2021-03-25
Posts: 3

Lightdm does not start on Lenovo T14 and X13 (and most probably T14s)

I am using manjaro (mate) on both a lenovo T14 and  a x13 laptop. (both AMD gen1) (5.10.23-1)

After applying recent upgrades, lightdm fails to start at boot. The Error occurs on both laptops. Leaving me with a blank screen at startup.

One way to recover is to log on a console (ctrl + alt + f2) and restart light dm

systemctl restart lightdm

It seems lightdm is trying to start before the video driver is completely loaded (xorg complains about /dev/dri/card0 in the log file, and the dri initialization timestamp (dmesg) is posterior to the error) .

I fixed it is temporatily by adding

ExecStartPre=/bin/sleep 5

into

/etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service

in the [Service] section.

Is there any official fix for this ? Did anyone else experience this ?

Offline

#2 2021-03-26 06:15:43

goldieswx
Member
Registered: 2021-03-25
Posts: 3

Re: Lightdm does not start on Lenovo T14 and X13 (and most probably T14s)

Apparently a (better?) option is to use KMS https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … _KMS_start

Edit

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf

Add amdgpu to the modules array

MODULES=(amdgpu)

Rebuild the initramfs

# mkinitcpio -P

Solves the issue right away.

Offline

#3 2021-03-26 12:33:59

piperdan
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2020-04-03
Posts: 19

Re: Lightdm does not start on Lenovo T14 and X13 (and most probably T14s)

Nice information, but.......

This is not the manjaro forum.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=130309

Last edited by piperdan (2021-03-26 12:37:30)

Offline

#4 2021-03-26 16:45:14

goldieswx
Member
Registered: 2021-03-25
Posts: 3

Re: Lightdm does not start on Lenovo T14 and X13 (and most probably T14s)

Thanks a lot for the info pal.

Arch Linux really rocks and I appreciate all the hard work put into it, I do use and promote the headless distro *a lot* everywhere I can.

Unfortunately I have a life and cannot use it for desktop use.

Note that I fixed the problem myself, and mainly posted the solution for the (sorry non arch) community, hopefully nobody was hurt.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB